Mumbai and Leaving India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
August 23rd 2006
Published: August 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mumbai Shanty SlumMumbai Shanty SlumMumbai Shanty Slum

For all the big buildings and wealth theres loads of these slums...
Hello again all,

Its time for me to leave India and with the Passport problem I had its taken a bit longer than expected so I had a few days to kill, Mumbai certainly the place to do that. I'd heard a number of mixed messages from Mumbai being dangerous but to be honest like everywhere I've been there's been no problems I've never felt under threat at all.
The first few days in Mumbai were spent in Colaba which is right at the bottom of the Island. Its a great place and full of youngsters and quite a few travellers as well. It's within walking Distance of most of the Sights of Mumbai so I went to see the gate of india and Niriam point which is Maharashtra's answer to Manhattan Island, its where all the business takes place and and its full of nice shops and big office blocks.
Played some cricket as well with some Kids under a flyover, they loved it! I was walking past and they threw a ball over and I caught it, so they wanted me to play with them, They keep giving me different bats cause they all wanted me to play
Gate Of IndiaGate Of IndiaGate Of India

Built by the British.
with their bat first! Thats been one of the best moments for me in India although being cleaned bowled by kids of 9 years old is a bit embarresing!
After that I decided I'd give playing cricket on the famous Maiden oval a miss, although I did watch some people playing for a bit, cricket is everywhere in India and everyone knows loads about it, even the little street kids know who Freddie Flintoff is!
Tonight I'm flying to Singapore, I've enjoyed India so much and there's been so many good memories, Everyone is so kind and helpful, everyone wants to know about you, I've never felt under threat and there always something to look at, even if it is a Tata truck which is inches away from hitting you in a head on collision on the roads!
I'll also be meeting Henson and Dave tommorrow so the party will be beginning tommorrow.....



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Coundown to MadnessCoundown to Madness
Coundown to Madness

In 3 Seconds all hell will Break loose....
Warning SignWarning Sign
Warning Sign

I love this, There appears to be no clamps here...
Little Bowling DemonsLittle Bowling Demons
Little Bowling Demons

At least 4 of this kids bowled me out. This was under the flyover where I played, one of the best moments for me in India
Oval Madien Action ShotOval Madien Action Shot
Oval Madien Action Shot

Everyone plays cricket on here, I gave it a miss, they were really going for it!
Mumbai BayMumbai Bay
Mumbai Bay

Its great to just sit on here and look across the bay,
Niriam PointNiriam Point
Niriam Point

The business centre of Mumbai at the one end of the bay.
Its a london Bus!!Its a london Bus!!
Its a london Bus!!

They still use these buses on the road I felt like I was in 1960s London!!


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb