Why I Love to Dance Salsa


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
December 22nd 2012
Published: December 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

People often ask me, “What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned in all your travels?” My answer has always been, “To let go.” With each delayed bus, traffic jam, and unexpected detour; with each new language, new cuisine, new religious custom, I’ve learned to let go a little more. Be it a stolen truck, a broken heart, or a cozy comfort zone, I’ve let them all go (some with more tears than others). But, until I started dancing salsa, I didn’t realize that I’ve never fully let go of my control.

Although I’ve never technically learned even the basic salsa step, following the beat has never been a problem for me. It’s following the lead that gives me issue. If I haven’t said it enough already, I like to do things my own way. And dancing is no different. When I first started dancing, my dance partners frequently complained, “Are you leading, or am I?”

Salsa requires a complete surrendering of control, a complete surrendering of the self. When I come onto the dance floor – thoughts of how I look or expectations about the next step – is when toes get stepped on and faces get elbowed. When I disappear, there is only the dance.

So, what is the most important lesson I’ve learned while traveling? Let go. Just dance.



For all the travelers out there that love to dance salsa, Bombay has the best salsa scene of any metropolis I've ever been to. You should definitely check it out. Happy dancing! :D


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0897s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb