The Monster of Juhu Beach


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
January 22nd 2010
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Vicious!Vicious!Vicious!

Actually very cute, if I was going to have a kid it would be a daughter and be similar to her.
Several people told me there was a lot of poverty and therefore crime in Mumbai but any thug is likely to be skinny and somewhat underfed so I think I could take one, maybe too. Unfortunately I wasn't prepared for this attack (don't worry, I'm being facetious). I was strolling along when this little girl started coming toward me. Obviously she was cute and she made the "hand to face" gesture to indicate she needed food. Of course I didn't have any but I'm sure she would have taken money. All I had was 500 rupes (about $10) and didn't think that was a good idea to give her either so I didn't.

She continued to follow me, her next tactic was to ask me if she could take my picture (I had my camera out). I said "no" but then realized she wanted me to take her picture. Recognizing the trap I juked and told her "no thank you". She was persistent so I finally gave in and took her picture, the one you see here but I still didn't give her anything.

Still following me, she broke out the big guns and began to cry as she walked beside me down the sidewalk. After crying for some time she startled me by quickly reaching down and touching my feet then touching her forehead. I wasn't sure what this meant but probably not that she wanted me to kick her in the head (just joking of course).

Shortly thereafter I won the round, she fell back and I kept walking. While I won the round I didn't win the fight, I had decided I was a big jerk for not just giving the girl 10 freaking dollars. The logical side of my mind was thinking back to "slumdog millionare" where child begging is a big industry, which I later confirmed with some locals. Come to find out it is an organized industry as well. Still, if I see her again I'll give her a few rupes. On a related note, the hotel and slum where "slumdog millionaire" are real places close to the hotel.

BTW...I asked some people from the office what the foot/forehead thing was and they said it is a sign of sincere respect. They do it a lot at weddings and stuff but it is typically for parents and grand parents. Very interesting.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb