Goa to Mumbai


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
February 28th 2006
Published: February 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On my last morning in Palolem I rented a local fishing boat for a couple of hours to look around the more inaccessible local beaches, they were idyllic. One in particular was very special; Butterfly Beach as the name suggests was teeming with large vibrantly colored butterflies. On the return trip our boat was joined by a pod of 20 bottlenose dolphins which were lovely to watch. After a brief stop overnight stop in Panaji, I traveled east to Old Goa which was the heart of the old Portuguese colony, wandering round cathedrals and churches felt very surreal in the middle of India, as with so much in India most of the town was in a state of disrepair and sometimes collapse.
My trip to Mumbai was not terribly pleasant, I got a 13 hour overnight sleeper bus, which would have been ok were it not for the bus driver who seemed to think the point of air conditioning was to make the bus as cold as physically possible. Combining this with my 5’6” bed I didn’t get the best nights sleep!
Mumbai is a very busy and chaotic city, by chance I ended up on Colaba causeway next door to Leopold’s Café (which Shantaram readers will know well). I’m enjoying the sights and sounds of the city but am looking forward to moving on to Thailand.


Advertisement



28th February 2006

Incredible
Hey mate. it's been great to read what you've been up to mate. So you've seen a tiger, could you look out for a ligre (cross lion and tiger(Napoleon Dynamite...!)) I hope you're able to find some pancakes! Keep up the blog it is good reading. Take care buddy.
6th March 2006

Great to read of your travels. Sorry you did not appreciate India! love and keep the reports coming

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb