Painting the Mumbai picture...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
March 3rd 2007
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'll try to paint the picture of yesterday.

I woke up in my room...looked around and thought...am I crazy???!?!?!

Now, I realize that many of you have been wondering this since you
first heard of the word India 2 months ago. But, this was the first
time I had thought it. Somewhere between the vivid dreams from the
Malarone (malaria pills) and the endless night hot and cold...I
regained my sense of reality...and that reality was...and is...India.
A place unlike...and yet, like any other. Adults dragging along
children, people eating in restaurants, poverty that is apparent on
virtually every street corner. Colors about as women walk the streets
in bright colored saris and salwar kamiz (baggy pants and long
shirts). If I lived here for long, I can honestly say that I would
been fine weighing another fifty pounds...because in the layers of
material, who would notice?

I am truly blessed to have been taken around by a man who is a friend
of my cousins. He shlepped me to most of the famous sites of
Mumbai...and some less famous ones (I may be the only tourist to
Mumbai who saw a modern shopping mall on their first day in the city).
By the end of the day, I was beat...but ecstatic enough to take a
quick shower and head to shul. Last night I joined Chabad for shabbat
dinner with about 25 other people, many of whom were Israelis doing
business of one kind or another in Mumbai. It was an eclectic
group...and with my jet lag, I think I followed 25% of the
conversation....but I was happy to be among a quasi-family so far from
home. Chabad is truly miraculous in that regard.

Came home with a very sweet Israel girl (23) who is on her 3rd trek to
somewhere remote. I found her to be truly insightful as we spoke in
Hebrew until well into the morning.

Now I am up again...and about to head out the door to meet Melind...my quasi-tour guide. I can't wait to share with you what comes next! This is truly an experience of a lifetime.

Love,

Marni



Advertisement



Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb