Mumbai for Purim...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
March 4th 2007
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

OK, this will be the last I mention Mumbai for quite while...But, it was great. Now, most people would not agree with me. It is smelly, dirty and pretty much not a place to spend a lot of time if you are just a tourist...but I loved it. Maybe its because it is so overwhelming that it doesn't leave room in my mind for anything else. I start the day early...and end the day in the early morning hours...thanks to our friendly local Chabad's Purim celebration...and some Israelis...

It seems that there are a whole lot of enterprising Israelis around India looking to open up restaurants...or perhaps its just that I've now met 5 in 2 days...either way, they make up an interesting group.

Yesterday started with Melind, my friendly quasi-tour guide, picking me up and bringing me to an elephant temple we had passed the day before. Now, since it was Shabbat, this was strange to say the least...but either way, I was happy to have experienced some form of spirituality to the day. It is a very interesting thing to experience the concept of an "offering" to a god. In theory, Jews used to do this in a physical form (animals or crops), but it has long since stopped. Here, people line up for hours on some holy days to offer up flowers, money, and other objects to the gods...which are in the form of gold statues in the middle of huge structures. Their devotion is evident, even as the younger generation says that they don't "believe" like their parents do.

Then off to Elephanta Island to excavated caves with more gods carved into the rock of the caves. It was boiling as we made our way up the side of the mountain...but then we were confronted by monkeys, which made it all worth it. After the boat ride back we got some lunch (amazing food abounds here!)...then started the cell phone debacle where I tried to get an Indian cell phone. I will spare you the gory details, but suffice it to say that I now have a number that will work for primarily incoming calls.

Next came the jet lag...passing out for 2 hours...then our friendly Purim celebration at Chabad. There is nothing quite like being in the middle of India, surrounded by Jews, as we read the megillah and eat steak. Truly a bizarre combination if ever there was one. I said goodbye to my new friends...and went out to a bar that could have been in downtown Tel Aviv or New York. The roof was beautiful...and I had my first Indian glass of wine. Funny though, it was basically a bunch of Americans and French occupying the seats...But nonetheless, a perfect end to a great day.

Now, as I sit here in the airport awaiting my departure to Kochin, I can't believe that I didn't do this earlier. There is really nothing quite like it...and I can't wait for what comes next.

Happy Sunday to all...
Marni

One final note...I have found that so many of the people here are incredibly kind, and will literally go hours out of their way for you. While in no way does this overshadow the incredible poverty one is confronted with, I hope that it encourages more people to come here and experience this incredible place.

Advertisement



4th March 2007

Unbelievable!
Your experiences are amazing already! I drempt about you last night. How was your flight to Kechin? Have you met up with your new connection to tour with? I love you. Love the blog. Mommy
5th March 2007

Monkey
In my travels around SouthEast Asia I always looked forward to monkeys. For some reason monkeys love Indian temples.
5th March 2007

Please
Please bring me back an elephant. Love, Andrea

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb