Yoga @ Kailvayadhana


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Lonavala
March 7th 2013
Published: March 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Feb. 5th, 2013

2nd day at the ashram

Today was my first full day in the ashram. I woke up at 6:15 AM shivering by the cold breeze. The ashram is in an area north of Mumbai in the outskirts near the mountains and so the weather can be cool specially before and after sunrise and sunset. I sat down in the bed and started a thankful meditarion. It helped me see and remind me what are the positive things in my life and what is really important. I felt so great and at peace that the morning yoga practice went through so easily and naturally.

After the morning session of yoga, which I have to say was really relaxing and helped stretch and learn basic poses I felt light and so thankful for this experience. I also have to say the practice is really easy for me even though I haven't done yoga on a daily basis since I moved to China I feel pretty comfortable with the poses the teacher tells us to do, so I might try to get into a more intermediate advanced yoga class tomorrow and see what I can do and what I can be challenged at.

Breakfast was ok the usual veggie meal. I have started to feel a little heavy because I have been eating all vegetarian non lacto meals which I am not used to and my stomach feels heavier than before. Also I have been having a runny nose and it might be the facial steam with mint leaves the naturopathy doctor told me to do. apart from this two little issues I have been feeling way too good! Calm,, peaceful, relaxed, at ease and so so much better with my life and my self.

After breakfast I took a short walk and read a book my mom gave me about ideas to live a healthy happy life and to find yourself and I also read a book about India called: Behind beautiful forevers. Both books are fabulous for this occasion and I like to alternate them every other time.

My naturopathy treatment was at 10:30 and it was a relaxing leg massage. They wrapped my legs with some bandages and massage me which is good for circulation and since I have been flying so much the last couple of years this actually helps a lot because I have been having really bad leg cramps and numbness feeling on them. I then headed to my room for some reading and then lunch.

After lunch it was rest time so I took the time to meditate and nap. it was so relaxing I fell deeply asleep and woke up at 3:20 and almost missed my naturopathy treatment. I literally ran to the center and when I arrived I knew by the looks that they were not happy. Anyway all I could do was apologize and make sure I was on time next appointment. My treatment was an oil body massage, a face and body steam. It felt so good seriously better than massages in Dalian :-) I took a warm shower to remove excess oil and headed to my afternoon yoga class.

Yoga today was a bit more challenging and I liked it more. I think I am the most advanced student In the class. I had some breathing exercises which help me tons with my respiratory problem and also with my anxiety. Then we did some Pilates -yoga leg exercises to tone our legs and stretch muscles. The teacher is getting better at giving immediate feedback to us when we do a pose. I think the first day some girls complained about him not giving feedback and the staff most have told him something. anyway tomorrow I will try the advanced class and se e how it goes.
The pranayama (breathing) yoga felt better today. I am starting to breath properly and now I can chant “ommm shanti” for a longer time without getting tired and out of breath.

Dinner was really yummy. Red pumpkin soup, some veggies with a sauce and brown rice with chapati ( thin bread) and some chai. I sat with the French guy, British girl and other Indian girls and we talked about the yoga and food. It turns out all of them except the British girl and I are doing Panchakarma which is a practice which involves detoxing and you eat without any oil. I which I had known of this before maybe I would have done it .
The day went really well and I am learning to be by myself and enjoy reading writing and meditating. Namaste!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb