Hurrendous Journey.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Madhya Pradesh » Gwalior
December 4th 2006
Published: December 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Gwoliar FortGwoliar FortGwoliar Fort

Wal;king towards Gwoliar fort.
Well I left Rishikesh at 6am on the 2nd of Dec (by myself) with the aim of arriving in Agra. However somehow (some 12 hours later) when I was supposed to get off, a misunderstanding happened and I failed to do so. This meant I arrived in Gwoliar. I was pretty annoyed with myself and after much deliberation I got off at Gwoliar, found a rickshaw that i didn't have to fight with and went to a hotel. (Gwoliar is only about 2 hours from Agra so it wasn't too bad.) This lonely planet guide saved my life! Just a great book. So I stayed the night there and actually went and saw a pretty amazing fort in the morning so all was not lost. I guide hunted me down and took me round and in the end asked for 250 r.s! so I thrust a 50 into his hand and walked off. In my India guide it says that 150 r.s is about average so I was pretty impressed about that! I didn't really like the feel of Gwoliar so I pressed on, found myself some information and headed back to the train station where I started doing some Sudoko.
Gwoliar FortGwoliar FortGwoliar Fort

At the top.
I hear this 'six' behind me and so me and this guy did a Sudoko. It turns out that he and his friends were in the airforce. They carried my bag onto the trian and bought me tea, crisps and a drink without any mention of anything! Very nice of them, there are some nice people out there. Anyway, as one was carrying my bag we were walking down some steps and I slipped grabbing someone to the left of me and kicking someone in the back of the legs in front of me...was pretty funny actually. Just a two hour train ride and as I had already booked a hotel, a free pickup service came with it so they met me at Agra station. Very nice of them and a very friendly hotel with a restaurant on top and a view of the Taj Mahl.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Gwoliar FortGwoliar Fort
Gwoliar Fort

At the top.
Gwoliar FortGwoliar Fort
Gwoliar Fort

Walking through.
Outside the palace.Outside the palace.
Outside the palace.

Outside the place.
Outside the palace.Outside the palace.
Outside the palace.

In the courtyard.
Outside the palace.Outside the palace.
Outside the palace.

In the courtyard. (That is a swimming pool in the middle!)
Outside the palace.Outside the palace.
Outside the palace.

A swimming pool can you believe!
The pathThe path
The path

The path to/from Gwoliar Fort.
Leaving in  a rickshaw from the fort.Leaving in  a rickshaw from the fort.
Leaving in a rickshaw from the fort.

This is about a 3rd of what it's like being me everyday, anywhere.


12th September 2011

plz guide us
Do you need to walk to the gate of teh fort? or did the rickshaw drop you till the gate? is there a lot of climbing in there??
12th December 2011

Hi sorry for the late reply! Yes the rickshaw dropped me at the bottom and I walked up. No it is not alot of walking. Hope your travels are going well :) Kate.

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb