Last Full Day In India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Trivandrum
July 6th 2007
Published: July 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's our last full day here and it's shaping up to be very busy. If my wife and son were here I know I would want to stay longer. But I can't wait to see them again!!!! I won't tell you everything we've been doing, I'll let the others write what has been impacting them. I will just tell you all how amazing they have been doing. Cindy has changed right in front of my eyes! I thought she was so quiet and shy and have been blown away by her heart to share and DANCE!!!!! I must admit I was most nervous about Autumn before we came but she has become one of my best friends and the most mature teenager I have ever met. Doureen is my new mom and has so much compassion toward the women and children here. Damon is my man and this trip has made me see how much we have in common and how we can annoy the other team members with our Beastie Boys lyrics. And Ericka is always giving credit to the Spirit when most people would just shrug it off.
Please listen to their stories. You will probably get tired of hearing them about half way through. But they have seen, heard and done so much in the last three weeks that you'll be hearing, "That reminds me of a time in India..." for the next two years.
Love you all and I'll see you soon,
Ben


Hey everyone, Autumn Here! Okay so I havnt been able to write on the blog in a long time...So if i retell a story Im sorry because I honestly dont remember what I have and havnt said. The diciples in 'Trivandrum are just as amazing as in the prior cities. Christy and Lucy are doing an amazing job in leading. They have great hearts and they make sure we have everything we need. They always ask us if we are too tired to visit people or if we are feeling well. Its encouraging knowing how much they are looking out for us but at the same time it feels like we are on vacation and not on a mission trip. It seems like it here most of all. Our hotel is incredible! The dining room is on the roof with flowers and an entire spread of food for breakfest, lunch, and dinner. And at dinner they have a live band. I told Lucy that I would be fine in a hut but they insisted that we stay here. I learned how to play Cricket in Cochin. It is a FORM of baseball....but wierder. j/k 😊 It was really fun. Ben almost lost the cricket ball though. I cant believe Ill be home on sunday. Mom and Tony, we should arrive in Detroit around 9:30 AM so if you want to meet us at the airport you want to (we were planing on going to church afterwards) or I cant ride with Doureen and Hal. Whatever you want to do. Dad and Kim, THank you so much for writting to me! you dont know how surprised and excited I was/am that you have been keeping in touch. Hearing for you is wonderful. How is Grandpa doing??......I hope okay because I feel Guilty that i havnt been able to see him.
I love you all and Ill see you soon! EXCITED to see you.
Autumn



Hey Hal,
Hi! Hope all is well with you. Just wanted to tough base with you to see if you will be able to pick us (Autum and Myself) from the airport in Detroit about 930 am on Sunday and would like to go to the Detroit Church if possible. Wondering if we will have room for another sister of two to ride to the church with us?. Anyway hope you are not over doing it. I love and miss you . Can not wait to share with you my trip and how God has been working.
Love you and see you soon.
Doureen


Greeting Grand Rapids Church Family,

Thank you for the encourging words From all of you and the special notes from the sisters.
I am excited to be coming home soon to share all that I have learned. Pat I have no doubt that you have work for me and I appreciate the warning. HA HA. I love all of you and can't wait to see you. However it will be a sad but happy farewell to the Brothers and Sisters in India. They have really touched my heart and God has totally been working on my heart as well. I am sorry that I will miss church in GR on Sunday but I will see everyone soon. Give everyone my best. See you soon.
Love you.
YSIC
Doureen

To the saints and priests in the Toledo Church of Christ, greetings to my brothers and sisters! Fran, Chris, Nick, Mandy, Rob, Shari, and Brett- Thank you so much for writing. You have no idea how much it means to me to recieve your messages in India. Is Jennifer Gamble O.K.? I am really surprised that I have not heard from her since I have been gone. Yesterday evening, the Spirit of God was working and moving. It was amazing! At the leader' meeting the day before, Christie, the evangelist, invited the leaders over to his house and asked them to bring people who were studying the Bible. Damon made dinner last night for the group. It was big turn out Christie and Lucy's house. I was not sure if there was not going to be enough food for everyone. God made a miracle and seemed to multiply the food. There was enough food for everyone to eat. But the most amazing thing was that there were four different Bible Studies going on at the same time at the Leader's house. I was to assist Autumn on a Bible Study. We studied with a 16 year old named Angela. The study went well! Lansing should be very proud of your Autumn. She did a wonderful job leading her first Bible study. It is inspiring that she has only been a disciple for a little over a year and to see how God has used her life. BEFORE I FORGET, BRETT - AFTER TALKING TO BEN, HE ADVISED THAT SOMEONE SHOULD PICK ME UP FROM THE AIRPORT IN DETROIT. WE SHOULD BE IN DETROIT BY 9:30 SUNDAY MORNING. WHOEVER PICKS ME UP CAN COME TO CHURCH SERVICE IN DETROIT WITH THE MISSION TEAM. Bye for now and I'll see you all soon enough!
Love, Cindy praying to make the most of the time left in India Lou Who?!

My Turn!
Hello family and friends
Long time. no blog. (aka long time no see ... he-he). Thank you Luanne, Wendy, and Stacey P. for writing me. I'm so encouraged! Man, there so much to share. Please forgive me if I am redundant from previous messages.
Leaving India is going to be bitter sweet. In fact, it's been challenging to go from city to city after building great relationships. It can take a toll on you emotionally. I can sort of empathize with Paul, the apostle, with his traveling and longing to see the churches. Kuduos to Paul the apostle for his sacrifice to be a man of mission.
I have become deeply impacted by the stories of the disciples, esp. for those of Hindu background. One sister shared that she was persecuted both in public and at home. In public her parents humiliated her in church by slapping and dragging her out of the church. In the streets, her parents beat her to the point of her sorree (an Indian dress) falling off of her. At home they would lock her in her bedroom without food. This went on for two years, until the day she was married by our brother in the Lord, Sachi. I'm not so sure if I could have endured such persecution while remaining faithful to God. I would hope so. She has persevered in her suffering and received a refined character and great hope in the Lord!
I have also been convicted by the faith sharing of Lucy (wife of the Trivandrum lead evangelist). She, Autumn, and I were sharing our faith in the streets. One lady of a lighter complexion gave us eye contact and kept walking as we were trying to speak to her. Lucy (so cute, approx 3.8 ft tall) chased her and challenged her by asking why do you ignore people who are trying to speak to you. (FYI: there is strong racism btw dark and light skinned Indians). I was thinking, way to go Lucy. That's the Spirit! Lucy then invited her to church and the woman replied that she would think about coming.
Man, I've got many more stories, but I've got to go now. I want to have a Savachi party when I get back. You've got to see this movie - The Boss. It will be a while before it's on dvd. I'll order it online and try to set up a viewing of the movie when I get back to the States.

I love you all!
Ericka ^_^

Advertisement



6th July 2007

What an amazing impact!
Hey everyone! I hope you are all having a great time. It is truly amazing the work that you are doing for God. The encouragement you are giving to the disciples in India and truly seeking to make disciples of all nations! I hope that the time you are spending with one another is encouraging for you as well. I have been praying for safe travels and inspirations for you all. Cindy - all of us here miss you much, and can't wait to have you back! I also can't wait to hear first-hand the stories that will stick with you forever. Stories of Faith, Courage, and just plain seeing God work in your lives while you are working for Him. As a side note (yet with all the importance of the main note) I'll be picking you up from the airport! That's exciting - I get you all to myself (yeah I know it's selfish!) I got your flight info from Jen G., who is doing well by the way. Looking forward to seeing you and going to service in Detroit! Love ya, Jen S
6th July 2007

Doureen
I would not miss picking you up. You know 5 will fit in the car so we will make room for anyone that has a need. Love you and be safe. Give my love to all. see you soon, Hal
6th July 2007

Jesus' Command Fulfilled
I'm sorry, my family, that I have not kept up with the blog like I'd hoped I would. I plan to go back and read the stories and look forward to hearing many a tail and seeing the multitude of pictures I'm sure currently reside on Ben's camera. It was such an inspiring thought, when we studied out discipleship for the first time, to think of making disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, Son, and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to obey all that Jesus has commanded of those whom we reach. To think that you have all experienced that scripture, not just reaching out to locals who are of various ethnicities, but actually going to preach the word of God in a another land where you are strangers and foreigners like so many heroes of the faith before you is truly a blessing that should never be allowed to fade from your hearts. The Lord be with you with all of his mighty strength and precious love. Godspeed, Y.B.I.C Ramayan <3
6th July 2007

Can't wait to see you all!
Hi Audy, Hi team, Wow! It's hard to believe you'll be home in a couple days. I can't wait to see you all! You have been touched by God. I pray your love, joy and enthusiasm be contagious ! I can't wait for everyone here to share in your stories. May your zeal inspire us all, to fan into flame what God has instilled in each of us . I pray you'll continue to inspire the missionaries here, and that every heart is convicted and grateful to God for the great commission he has given us all. Thanks so much for your amazing hearts, and great faith. Thanks for taking such good care of Autumn, and teaching her so much. I always thank my God as I remember you in my prayers, because I hear about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all the saints and the lost. Your love has given us great joy and encouragement, thank you so much! Lve, Deb (Audy's mom)
6th July 2007

Wow...Time flys
I cant believe its been three weeks already. It has been great hearing all the awesome stories told by each and every one of you. You all have made such a great contribution to the lord and humanity. Autumn, grandpa is doing amazingly well. He is driving and getting out daily. His cancer has not spread, it remains only in his lungs which is a blessing since he is receiving no treatment. Dont feel guilty you are doing so much good over there, feel proud. When you get a free weekend we would love to have you and see all your pictures and hear all your stories. I know you have a busy summer (you always do) but maybe you can carve out a day or two for us. Have a safe trip home. We love you and thank you for keeping in touch. Love, Kim

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb