India - Kovalam, Kerala


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kovalam
February 17th 2012
Published: February 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

This morning we went back to Lighthouse Beach, where I got to play in the sand and jump the waves with daddy. I also brought cousin Evie a nice Indian dress - I hope she likes it.

This afternoon we spent some time in the pool and the rest at the local temple because there has been a festival all day. It's been really interesting. It was the first Indian festival me, mummy and daddy have seen. There were lots of fireworks (that started at 7am!), singing and dancing and playing drums. All the ladies and girls were wearing their best sari's. It got very smoky at one point when lots of ladies lined up and had open fires to cook rice. Think they were going to throw it afterwards but I missed that bit. I saw lots of men throwing petals in the air too. It was all so much fun. Apparently there will be an elephant too, but the celebration goes on all night and it's already passed my bedtime so I'm going to miss it :-( Hopefully I'll get some sleep, though the music from the temple is VERY loud right now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb