Sightseeing in Mysore with very sore feet


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Mysore
June 14th 2009
Published: June 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sightseeing day.

We took a bus up to the Chamundi Hills which overlooks the city. At the top there are a few monuments and temples including the monkey monument (see pic) . We had breakfast at the top in a small cafe - I had Bisibele Bath which was a curry creamed rice pudding and very yummy.

We then walked down the 1000+ steps to the bottom of the hill. Almost on each step there was either some red paint or a little candle burning, showing that the steps had been blessed I suppose. Half way down our descent was a huge bull rock, see picture.
After this we walked towards the Mysore palace to have a look at the inside it during the daylight. Unfortunately there was a Indian ticket price and a tourist ticket price..one which was 20rs and the other was 200rs !! which was too much for Mahaddenine so I went in on my own as this was my only opportunity to see it. It was very impressive, lots of gold and silver walls and doors, stained glass windows everywhere and very fancy marble. Camera's weren’t allowed inside the palace so I have no pictures of it. Also shoes weren't allowed inside and during the mad rush to get inside (it was very busy) I misplaced my foot and hurt my left foot ( previous breakage) and it hurt for a few days after (fine now).

We then walked back to the Hotel RRR for another Thali lunch. It was so popular we had to wait for 30mins before we could get a seat but it was worth it.

We were quite tired as we had walked about 10km so far, but somehow we managed to find the energy to walk the 2km to the zoo and back and the 3km inside the zoo. The zoo was to be expected, but the tigers were impressive: they were within 3m of me, behind a cage and they were huge ! the size of a pony.

My right foot by this time...the one with too many mosi bites had totally swollen up. I might but the picture online but its not a pleasant sight.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

View from hillView from hill
View from hill

Half way down
Bull Bull
Bull

On the way down the hill
Hotel RRRHotel RRR
Hotel RRR

It was a little dark inside but the food was amazing


23rd June 2009

Sore foot
My Mam used to put a bandage soaked in vinigar on swellings and sprains, didn't smell nice but worked a treat xxx

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb