Back to Bangalore again


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
June 11th 2009
Published: June 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

PosingPosingPosing

In my new pretty sari
Arrived super early on the sleeper train after only getting about 3 hours sleep. There was a man snoring sooo loudly on the train next to me I couldn't sleep very well. I got to my friends Ramki's house at about 7:30.

In the morning Ramki's mum and auntie ( kind neighbour who cooks Ramki's food for him) took me to go and buy a Sari. They took me to a really posh shop which had AC, golden door handles and a guard. The poor shop assistant showed me about 50 different designs of Saris...orange ones, brown ones ,...they were all horrible and not very modern designs more for older ladies. I felt bad as they had taken the effort to bring me to the shop and I liked none of them. Suddenly the shop assistant took me to the other side of the shop and showed me some designs I actually liked. It was a silky green Sari with little crystals on it. Perfect!! I had found my Sari to wear to Ramki's party. I couldn't wait to get home and try it on.

In the evening we traveled to Ramki's flat to get the place ready for the ceremony on the next morning. Ramki's mum did some Pooya ( prayers ) and drew Hindu symbols on the floor and work tops. Ramki and I helped a bit with the cleaning. We stayed until sunset and spent about 2.5 hours in traffic on the way home getting bitten by mosi's and a cold from the fumes. The smog was very bad.

Advertisement



22nd June 2009

Sari
Of course you look lovely , the colour really suits you and of course I have the perfect book for you when you return ........'the Sari Shop'! Honestly.

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb