Almost at my dream destination.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir » Ladakh » Zanskar
November 1st 2013
Published: November 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello everybody,

First of all I want to remind all of you who only go see the blog when I send the mail that I post everyday on this blog, I am just not sending a mail. You can also leave comments if you want just like with FB.

Any way, Day 16 of our trek.

Since Padum we haven't gained much height, only about 500m. We're now at 3900m. It's a slow ascend of 10 days to our last pass of 5100m, but that's for later.

Today we walked 5,5 hours to Purney. In Purney we'll stop for 2 days because from there we'll have a day trip to Phugtal Gompa. Phugtal Gompa... I have been dreaming of that place for almost 30years now. I saw a documentary about Ladakh and Zanskar when I was 15, and ever since I wanted to come here and I wanted to see Phugtal Gompa.

It's a remote monastery hanging on the cliffs of a mountain. So this is THE reason why I planned this trek and dragged Nadja with me. Tomorrow will be THE big day!!

Today not much happened besides the family of Himalayan mountain goats or Ibex that we saw, and some narrow paths and bridges...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb