Days with the Dalai


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
August 6th 2008
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The past three days have been really nice. Each day we would wake at 6:30 to make it down to a sweet little cafe overlooking the valley for breakfast. They had great tea and real espresso! The monks, nuns, and tourist of all ages made their pilgrimage toward the temple. The Dalai Lama sat inside the main temple and most others sat on the floor surrounding where he sat watching through tvs and loudspeakers. Evidently some Koreans requested the teaching so each day began with a Buddhist chant in korean--very enchanting....I have not heard the likes before. Twice everyone is served a piece of tibetan bread and a cup of tea. The monks walk between the aisles and pour tea from GIANT silver tea pots. We have been sitting with the nuns and they pass their tea bowl--literarly--they love the tea so they bring large bowls to be filled. Carefully, we then pass the many bowls of tea back down the aisle. The nuns were quite playful and sweet. They massaged each other, stuck out tongues, poked each other with the ends of their malas, and even once threw a spit ball! Today during the talk, the dalai lama was about to introduce us with the bodhisattva vow, but then thought a little tea would do us good first, (he then chuckled very heartily to himself.....which in turn made me laugh). Yesterday as he exited the temple, he stopped right in front of us to pet a little kitten that a woman was holding! I could barely contain myself for the cuteness! Today after the teachings we went to Dharamsala to visit the Norbulinka Institute where they paint thankas. It was one of the most beautiful places I have visited yet! The gardens were quite lush while fountains, ponds, and streams flowed throughout. It was reminiscent of a zen garden except....a bit tropical. I wish I had brought my camera. The cafe served very good cake. There are many many bakeries all around india but most have the same unsatisfying items. Most look fairy good but really they are quite bland. Up here in mcleod ganj I have managed to find a source for very good chocolate cookies. Tomorrow I will continue thankga painting class and hopefully transfer my sketch to canvas. Jason attended last class and plans to come to learn more tomorrow as well. Blessings!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

jason with monkjason with monk
jason with monk

check out the shoes....hehe
my tara sketchmy tara sketch
my tara sketch

its slowly coming along


6th August 2008

Plain sweet
All I can say is, "Let the kittens be loved!" Sounds like I could fit in well with the nuns, between the love of tea and being a goof! xoxomama
6th August 2008

Wow
Incredible! Sounds like an amazing time. Vida, your sketches look so good. Can't wait to see more. Love, Vince
6th August 2008

Good-morning!
Good-morning Miss Vida! This was the perfect start to my day, reading your blog. Your travels sound so magical and wonderful! I love the playfulness of the nuns, and the sweetness of the dalai lama. You are very much alike them full of sweetness, play, love, laugh, and good energy. Oh, it makes me very happy and rejuvenated a bit like I myself had left the country. Very good. Big hug for you and Jason. Love, Virginia
9th August 2008

yum....
you and jason are having such a sweet pilgrimage.... i am just overjoyed seeing all the images of this very precious place, re-living my own memories through the wonderful experiences that you are both having. relish every moment... it will nourish your spirit for a lifetime. we'll be here waiting when you come back to THIS paradise... much love, karen

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb