Mcleod Ganj


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
July 31st 2008
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jason and I have now been in Mcleod Ganj for five days now. It is a very comfortable place to be. This village is where many Tibetan refugees have come and is where the Tibetan Government in Exile is centered. Two days ago the Dalai Lama arrived and hundreds of people lined the streets to greet him. Many women burned incense and we all bowed with hands at our hearts as he drove by with his glowing smile blessing us all. I was touched with deep emotion when my eyes alighted on his face and was almost brought to tears. We registered for his teaching taking place on August 4th to the 6th. Yesterday we went down to the library where they hold daily dharma talks and received a teaching on Nargajuna 's precious garland. On the journey from Rewasar Lake, a most beautiful place with many gompas (monasteries), we were fortunate enough to give a monk a lift part of the way to visit his mother. It was really amazing to converse about Buddhism with a person who obviously was deeply dedicated to practice. To ask personal questions that I struggled to understand in regards to the dharma was such
Blessed at Manali Shiva templeBlessed at Manali Shiva templeBlessed at Manali Shiva temple

Bali festival. We missed the sacrifice of about 40 goats and bulls by a few hours!
a gift. He was such a gentle person. There are many monks around here as well as there are many gompas established in this region as well. A couple of days ago we hiked up to the waterfall beyond Bhagsu but it was a huge disappointment. There were many Indian tourist who were kicking plastic waterbottle, plastic bags, and breaking glass into the water below. The men were almost naked being quite boisterous and taking macho shots in front of the waterfall. I was quite challenged for understanding. I had to desire to stay so we turned around. The weather here is also not exactly prime for hiking. There are three differences in weather here: mid low thick grey clouds, clouds descending mistily into the streets, and misty thick rain. Still I like it here and think it is nice. There are so many beautiful things lining the streets that delight the eye. I have also found a good source for fresh baked chocolate chip cookies!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

om ganeshayaom ganeshaya
om ganeshaya

Ganesha temple at Nagar Castle


1st August 2008

Hello!
I can't even imagine standing amongst hundreds and greeting the Dalai Lama!!!! I believe you've both seen him present before, but this is a completely different situation/setting. Wow! It makes me happy to know that you both will be with the Dalia Lama, soaking in his knowledge, as I take my test. Yeah. One more thing before I get back to my studies... I absolutely love the photo of you two at the Bali festival, you guys are glowing!!!!!! Love you both!
2nd August 2008

Lovely!!
Your pictures are beautiful I look forward to seeing more. I am glad to hear that you have got to experience the appropriate balance of serenity and reality. Where are the pics of the half-naked macho men? ;-) hehe Sooooo is India all you dreamed of? I wish I could just pop over and enjoy a delicious meal with you and J. Miss you!! Represent us Americans well. xoxox j

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb