Some anecdotes


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
December 11th 2007
Published: December 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

..while I carefully carry E.Coli along, like a good mother (f*** makes me think of Sigourney Weaver in Alien!), here are some anecdotes, collected here and there along my wanderings.

THIS IS INDIA (I): 150 RUPIES FOR TO-DAY
On entering the 18 miles of the Ganga National Park, the start of the trekking for the sources of Ganga, a kind but decisive Park officer asks for my documents and 150 rupies, the entry fee, and asks about the length of my stay. As I reply that I might come back the day after tomorrow, he immediately replies: "the entry fee is only for today, so please pay another 150 rupies". Quite baffled, I ask: "Why is it so?" and he answers "the fee is only for today, so please pay". Sadly, I resort to my wallet, and while doing that I notice a partially (and cleverly, I believe) covered panel stating that the entry fee is for 2 days, so I point it to the guard who says "Yes, this is what I said: the entry fee is valid only for TWO-DAY. If you stay more than TWO-DAY, you have to pay another 150 rupies". Smilingly, I assure him that
Entanglement IEntanglement IEntanglement I

New Delhi
I will not overstay, put the 150 rupies back in my wallet and start the hike.

CRAZY PEOPLE MET ALONG THE WAY (I)
This one is a 22 years old russian girl from somewhere in Syberia. She has been travelling North India for about 26 months , waiting for her guru to show up. She met a wandering Sadhu once 26 months before, and after submitting to his teaching, was just told to go on her way, being sure that they will meet when the time is ripe. Having left more or less everything in mainland Russia, and surviving on rather smoky travel reportages, she's still wandering around. I hope she finally met her Guru (or maybe not).

THIS IS INDIA (II): NO ALCOHOL ON THE SACRED LAKE!!!
To keep a little celebration going for Diwali, we decided to buy a few bottles of beer. As we were opening them, we are joined by an angry owner of the guest house who starts screaming at us: "this is not possible, this is a holy place, you must not drink beer here, this is against Hindu religion!!!". Once we start, sadly, to put everything back together, the guy comes back with a glass and orders: "give me some beer!".




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Out of ErehwonOut of Erehwon
Out of Erehwon

Church of St, John's in the Woods, Dharamsala


9th February 2008

whattafuck
cazzo sto racconto me sembra m po tipo l arca de noè stiamo leggendo e ci sembra che hai preso la macchina del tempo tipo quando mi è arrivato il pacco di acquiloni ed ho pensato:oh mio dio è il cacciatore di acquiloni afgano! che vita tornerà Siddharta ed io non avro' nemmeno il terzo occhio aperto! Ho fatto vedere i misteriosi barattolini a Lella che prima entusiasta mi ha guardato e chiesto :"che bbello ma a cosa servono chiediglielo e poi dopo poco.....ma questo è nero!!!!corri scaldalo!!!!! Fantastico l europa ci uccide! Mimanchi fricchetto' odio il tuo pc francese

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb