Update from Chandigarh


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
September 30th 2007
Published: September 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The last week of my stay in Ladakh was a first week of the Ladakh festival in Leh. I did not go to any of the events. And did not feel the need. Saying good-bye's, wrapping things up and being with people and places was more real...from dinners with friends and story-time with the boys in the evening to the last class and picnic day on the weekend.
I left Ladakh knowing that we choose most events or at least their reality... as well as who we are...and that if external events allow it, I will go back...in one way or the other.
At the farewell in the Nastan shrine Geshe Thinless was talking to the boys how I came unpaid and offered much...after every one of my students came over with the katak (the offering scarf) and I was feeling the love spill out...I knew I was actually overpaid...manyfold. I have also learned that my tactile, exhuberant way of loving the world is not the only way, yet-when pure, considerate of others and not overbearing, can have its place.
Saying goodbye to Jangspal family and Geshe at 4 o'clock in the morning felt like leaving my own family...
But the "Ladakh family" continued (and still does)...to work its gentle embrace and care: in Manali, in Dharamsala, in Chandigarh...
The long but beautiful journey from Leh to Manali (via night in Keylong) has been a start of a "returning change" - different air, flood of green colour and farewells to chortens.
Baburam family (a part of the "Ladakhi network") picked me up and shared their home and joys (I have to remember to send a Harry Potter postcard to their youngest son) in Manali.
Then I was settled in a Buddhist nunnery in Mcloud Ganj in Dharamsala and 'checked on' by Ladakhi nuns. Another friend of Gen Tsundus, Getsul Sundup shared his free time and humanity...Rain poured for most of my stay there but it sort of worked perfectly as I was working through a backlog of my old Dharma teaching notes...and my self-observed ackwardness and insecurity. Tibetan story is complex, painful and in no way a straightforward one... I was reading various books and stories on the subject while there and have joined the monastic demo against the Chinese Article 5. Some of you may have read something about it...if not...look it up...it beggers belief! They (the communist Chinese government) have declared that from now on they will choose the Dalai Lama !!!!! Mcloud Ganj? Very wet (monsoon was letting go just as I was leaving) commanding beautifull views from its mountainous position and so green (can you tell I am stilll getting used to the extravagantant colour overspill) and an interesting mix of Dharma westerners, hippies, Tibetan refugee community (both old school with strong memories and young new things finding their identity search not an easy journey).
Another crazy bus journey and onwards to Chandigarh. It is good to touch down with Angmo Jangspal and use my voice as a cheerleeder, supporting her basketball team play in a Ladakhi Student association championship.... I am starting to really dig the rickshaw rides through wide green avenues of this well planned city.

Photos take years to download...hence the lack of. I wil try again with the next update.

Love to you all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb