Spazmo-proxyvon


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Manali
August 3rd 2006
Published: August 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello All and this blog finds me a very happy Wiseman indeed. I left Ladakh on Monday at bad o'clock. After hours of interminable and claustrophobic winding through the never ending brown mountains of Ladakh I was finally greeted with the huge green mountains of Himachal Pradesh. Not only that but moist air and the smell of herbs and pine. Most welcome to my english heart and lungs. So here I am in a little village north of Manali called Vashishat, staying with a lovely australian girl called Leana who I met in Leh.

Being monsoon season we can't escape the rain. But who cares when you stare out at clouds floating past green mountains and the rain is warm and gentle. Besides - I feel at home in the rain.

PRODUCTIVITY LEVELS

Are improving...I've done yoga (still trying to get that third chakra open and find my spiritual centre!) two days in a row. I even managed some research on voluntary work - sent off some emails yesterday but no one has got back to me. I'll probably need to actually call them!


So here are my latest observations.

PROBABLY NOT THE LAST THING I WILL SAY ABOUT BUSES

Something has definitely shifted in my neurology. I'm not scared anymore. At various points on the journey on the Leh - Manali highway (highway? you're having a laugh - pot holed road that sometimes isn't a road and actually just a river or a bit of ground)
I found myself thinking "ooo I should be scared by this"
But I wasn't. Cool, nailed my fear of heights then.

MONKS

They are just ordinary dudes, they go to restaurants and everything.

They just don't have sex.

Apparently


BEARDS

Now it was explained to me that the Israelis here accesorise their traveler look with all manner of facial hair because in the main they are just coming out of national service. In the army they can't grow their hair so its a little bit of a release, an act of rebellion if you will.

On the other hand certainly the muslim indians and maybe indians of other religions grow beards as a sign of devotion and commitment to god. So kind of an act of conformity.

Same facial hair. Completely different meaning and motivation.

Crazy old world.

Why would you grow a beard? Answers on a postcard to the usual address.

RIDICULOUS DRUG NAMES

I met a couple of English boys in Leh who had purchased a drug from a pharmacy called Spazmo-Proxyvon.

It made me laugh.

INDIA - ITS FULL OF BENDY MEN

Truly.

There's loads of yoga boys here who can do all kinds of interesting things with their bodies. Hmmmmm.

Not much today, I'm not feeling too inspired. Namaste.

Advertisement



4th August 2006

Beards
My father has a beard - he shaved it off once revealing a number of chins underneath. He regrew it.

Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb