It didn't rain much today


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Manali
August 8th 2006
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Still here in Vashisht and boy does it know how to rain here in monsoon season!

The rain is awesomely competent! Hours of it. In fact its probably the most competent thing I have found so far about India.

I have seen Vashisht spelt Vashishat. So thats with a silent shat then. Not like the cow shit which is everywhere. Getting back to the guesthouse at night can be an tricky adventure even with a flashlight. You are quite literally walking though a cow shit mine field ready to explode on uncovered and unsuspecting feet at one false step. But then thats the good thing about the rain it liquidieses the cow shit so it just mixed up with the ordinary mud. Rock on.

Mum you wouldn't like it here - there are cows EVERYWHERE - all up close and personal.

My guest house even comes with an en-suite cow and goat.

Bathing in Vashisht is cool. The guest house doesn't have a shower or bathroom and that is becasue Vashisht has hot springs, so we all trek down to the temple to bath there, which is communal, fun and extremely hot. Its a bit slippy though, one Japanese lady almost crushed a small indian child to death the other day.

Doing two hours of yoga a day and feeling a little virtuous. Haven't found my spiritual centre yet, but I reckon my fourth chakra is opening up a treat. Still enjoying the bendy yoga men all over the place. Wouldn't mind a little more hands on enjoyment though.
I have been swapping Hindi lessons for french lessons with my yoga teacher! I never thought I would be teaching an Indian french in exchange for learning this crazy crazy alphabet, but there you go. Another reason to never say never.....

Was talking to a wizard in a chai (tea) shop today. Apaprently I've got the messiah number....so for all of you that
ever doubted me..... ;-)

Anyway just a quick one today, fingers crossed I have some voluntary work on the way in Bangalore, Southern India, working with the mentally ill (just like I always wanted!)

Namaste All

Love and laughs

The odd comment would be nice - just to let me know you are all there.

Maybe you aren't....

Kate

Advertisement



8th August 2006

Hi babe Still here... moving house today but am at the office so have left Rich to the mercy of the removal men or should that be the other way round! Am following your adventures with a mix of fear, anticipation and awe! Proud of you hon.... don't fancy following in your footsteps .. particularly those that found the cow shit mines!.. but impressed with you and enjoying the adventure from the comfort of my desk chair! Will write more when I have cleared a space amongst the boxes to set down my laptop! Lol Sarah xxx
8th August 2006

Beardless Comments
I was sure that after your last submission that I made an incredibly witty and inciteful comment about beards but now I can't find it - lost forever it would seem - perhaps others have had the same problem. Regarding the liquidised cow shit - I think I've just realised why they advised to never drink the local water during monsoon.........on a more pleasant note - sure your spiritual centre is just one posture away. Liz

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb