Heavy times, heavy rains


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Dharamsala
August 6th 2006
Published: August 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Had a rough couple of days. I was in Manali but I couldn't stay too long due to there be more marijuana there than there were people to smoke it, and it started giving me flashbacks of high school(really relaxing place Vashisht is though). So after stupidly eating this wonderfullu humongous korean meal, I jumped on a 10 hour bus ride to Dharamsala. I eventually found a decent place and then became very sick, bored, and wet. I then lost my address book which was full of important numbers and emails addresses Ipicked up along the way.I almost cancelled the trip that day.

Well things worked out O.k. since then. I did a hike up to Dharamkot yesterday where I was shocked to see more hebrew than hindu, but I met a guy from Seattle who lives in Dharamsala for tibetan medical treatment and walked with him for sometime. He informed me about how the area has turned to shit over the last 4 years. Over building, crowding, automobiling. Everything. Bhagsu is full of punjabi tourists who are roudier than Israelis. And the town has lost what it once had.
On the bright side, I heard that Dalai Lama guy is doing some teaching sessions in a few days and I'll see if I can join all the Koreans that here for it. Maybe.




-excerpt from an email to a brother



note: sorry to the few who commented, I didn't realize I had to accept them!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.283s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1855s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb