the calm after..


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Dharamsala
May 10th 2006
Published: May 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

...storms, hail, some more storms, diarrhea for heather and a neck sprain for me. But now things are much better. *sigh* of relief.

The weather has been outrageous. Watching people's reactions to hail storms was rather interesting to me. I did not understand why people ran down the streets when caught in one, but that mystery was quickly solved. Returning back from work on Monday, I was caught in one. After the passing of a serious heat wave, this one seemed angry. But, really, one should not run - unless you have mastered running downhill on marbles against a stubborn wind. Well, you get to decide- whether you wish to land on your rear or get pelted. I chose the latter.

I took refuge in a bus stand, and then when it seemed as though there was a bit of calm, I started back up. This was only a means of keeping safe for a brief period of time, but who knew that I'd leave (painfully) attached to a young Tibetan lad, wanting to obviously indulge in profound talk and more. He walked with me shouting over the screaming wind, wanting to know where my room was, etc, etc, etc... I was cold, tired, soaked, couldn't fully understand what he was saying (but wanted to be polite), had plastic wares irritatingly floating around my ankles, could not see too well (my glasses were put in the bag) and trying to get this ridiculous man off my back.
So, ARE YOU SICK OF THIS? you may ask. I wish to clench my teeth and keep my silence. Being submerged in a spiritually intense atmosphere where karmas rank high in deciding what one may end up as in their next life, I wish to remain polite (until..... !aarrgh)
To get him off my back, I entered a store, and waited there. It worked. I walked on home, through the quickly flooding street. Keeping company to the busily flowing trash and empty plastic bottles, seeming like they too were going someplace. I got home, soaked, cold and angrily amused at the men around here. I told Heather of the whole story only the next day. She laughed, and said, "What kind of man tries to pick up a chic in a hail storm?"

Advertisement



17th May 2006

MEN..................
OHhhhhhhh Kripa, Haven't you figured them out yet??!! MEN are MEN..............Anytme, anywhere. THEY ARE STILL MEN.!!!! Nothing stops them or changes their course of thought. Sorry to be so cynical..... As Dad's doctor said to me yesterday, "we can't help ourselves, we're only MEN.!!"
20th May 2006

Outrageous, forget it!!
You write so well Kripa, it is a pleasure to read your prose. I can understand what it must have felt to have a man violate your personal space. I think there are just about two ways ways of dealing with these idiots: tell them off right there and then and I understand you chose to be polite and the other is to just use your presence of mind to get them off your trail which you did. Just don't let them dampen your mood, they do not deserve all that thought time. But yes, we can definitely talk about how patriarchy makes men feel that they own the world!! What a big myth!! Take care.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb