If you can't stand the heat...get the hell outta Panjim!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Colva
March 6th 2009
Published: March 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So that's exactly what I did! And note to self: never book a room with shared bathroom just for the sake of a few Rupees! Got a bus from the chaotic Panjim bus stand to Margao which took about an hour. The sign above the ticket booth made me laugh though..'two seats reserved for ladies and freedom fighters'! When I got on it was so crowded and so hot I thought I would pass out but once we got started, apart from one or two near misses, it was fine. It took me some time to realise I was in the seats reserved for 'ladies. only'...but I am a laydee!!
I then had my first experience of a Tuk Tuk, a little 3 wheeler jobby with a 2 stroke engine. These guys just do what they like! They just weave in and out of all the other vehicles!
I have booked into a place called Sams Cottages in Colva, a beach village not far from Margao. It's really nice but feels more like a hotel the way it's laid out but still budget prices , nice to sit on the balcony overlooking the courtyard full of Coconut trees. In the village not far from here they have little beach huts called cocohuts so I'll head down there in a few days and check them out.I've finally gone and hired a moped. Getting petrol for it was an experience, it comes in litre bottles previously used for water! A lot of the things are quite far apart so it's really handy and when I get used to it I'll take a drive down the coast a bit and maybe go to the spice plantations.
I was hoping to upload some pictures here as I have plenty of time but like a lot of things in India..."it is not allowed" They won't allow you to use the USB ports so I can't even charge my I pod!
So I'm off to explore now...big hugs ...Lx

Advertisement



8th March 2009

wow
well hello to you all the way over there ! You sound like you are having a good time and learning lots to ! have printed your previous bloggs so am going to read them shortley to catch up on your activities completly. look forawrd to your next installment :-) LOL J from sunny london.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb