GOA


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Baga
March 4th 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last night, Bunty took me to the Gate of India monument.. which was on Marine DRive.. Chowpatty beach.. then we went to the oldest, most well known hotel in Bombay the Taj Mahal Hotel.. it was beyond elegant, comparable to the Grand hotel in NYC. I had a dirty martini there.. same price as US.. about 15$. its amazing the dichotomy between rich and poor here.

Then Bunty took me to his favorite indian restaurant, and OH MY, IT WAS DEFINATELY THE BEST FOOD OF MY LIFE. We got Masala poppers, which is papadum, sprinkled with spices, raw onions and lentils?? and then Chicken Kabob.. amazing.. and LAMB CURRY. It was perfectly spicy.. and I was in heaven, along with my king fisher.

Thereafter we went to a local club.. it was definately happening, 5 stories, hawaiin style.. with indian bartenders in hawaiin shirt.. i had a great time, they played old hits like "Girls just wanna have fun", guns n roses, all real good music..

I had quite a lot of whiskey last night.. and had 1 hour of sleep before I got up at 3:45 am to get to the airport for my flight to GOA. I was very drunk, stumbling through the airport.. (what an experience). Got to GOA at 6 am, met a lady from spain, we shared a taxi and decided to go to BAGA beach.. we both checked in some hotel for 14$ that we are sharing and passed out til 11 am-ish.. I got up to walk around and get some food when I realized the beach was filled with 45+ western traveler couples and tour groups.. the beach is dirty, overly congested with sun beds and umbrellas.. and completely tacky..

I ordered a hamburger at the restaurant as I am majorly feining for red meat, I shoulda known better but I had to try it.. that it was completely disgusting (people dont eat red meat here).. But the chicken soup i ordered was good.. I shopped around a bit.. and now am searching for my hotel.. I dont know the name, nor where it is exactly.. but remember Tito's restaurant around it.. so im searching aimlessly for it, so that I can check out and hop to the next beach - Anjuna.. south of here to find people my age to party with.. There is suppose to be an overloaded population of israeli and european boys here to party.. Why not.

Thankfully the hotels i've been staying at has been dirt cheap, I dont feel so bad checking out after half a day when I realize it's not what im looking for.

I feel like I've been here forever.. trying not to regret going to North India instead .. but it will make me appreciate it that much more when I come again.. to Rajasthan, Bodh Gaya, Darjeeling, Punjab...

Hopefuly my next entry will be about the beautiful beach , with the beautiful bars , and beautiful people i've found 😊

Advertisement



5th March 2008

loser
I was very drunk, stumbling through the airport. DORKKKK
5th March 2008

Hey!
Ooooo the food you described sounds amazing! I am craving it right now lol!!!! Hopefully you will find some young, hot ppl at the next beach. But be safe! ;) Have fun and can't wait till you get back! Yay!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb