Hippie Life in GOA


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Palolem
March 6th 2008
Published: March 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've been in Goa now for the third night.. Last night in India before my flight tomorrow at 1:45 pm!!!! I will land 11:30 am saturday.. straight to lots of Chinese food, pedicure, target, costco, laundry (running the soap at least 2 times).. I've done the laundry once here but I dont know if it cleaned it or made it worse.

After my last post, I took a taxi to Anjuna Beach Tuesday around 3 pm. Much better than Baga.. more of a young crowd, new age hippies as well as hippies in their 50's and 60's.. who were the true hippies back in the day, discovered Goa back then when they backpacked and are now back for a reunion... These 40-60 year olds are more liberal than us youngins!!! They are at the raves on drugs.. with tattoos, anorexic slim bodies, overly tanned rubber skin and hippie clothing..

I settled at Sunset Bar & hotel, for 900 rupees - got ripped off, about 23$ a night.. but oh well.. i have 2 bags now and they are so heavy.. I am not able to roam very far. The local sellers here are the most aggressive and annoying.. especially the women.. i wouldn't be surprised if in Anjuna, it is a matriarchal society.. they are tigers!!! EVERY SINGLE stall, they are screaming, very rudely "COME LOOK AT MY STORE!" "come back! u promised!" My temper and patience level was at the lowest while at Anjuna for 2 nights.. After awhile u just want to grab a stick and poke them away like they do to the cows. I have grown attached to roaming cows.. and your occasional Goat.. The stray dogs here though are despicable.. i dont get too close cuz they may have rabbis, and other nasty diseases.

I had late lunch at San Francisco's cafe.. I befriended a Norweigan girl named Freddy (short for Fredirica) sitting close by , by herself.. she is traveling with a friend for 2 months.. through southeast asia.. Everyone i've met have traveled at minimum 1 month up to 9 years!!! Oh I envy them! I shopped around after lunch (i have a bag full of clothes/scarves/bags.. all less than 5$ each.. but adds up).. and then met up with the girls back at my hotel for some beers outside the bar.. and then Freddy and I went to Baga (ironically, a better nightlife than in Anjuna Beach)..

We found a restaurant with lawn chairs/tables packed on the beach with people.. we sat with a heavy indian girl, that we suspect is a Hooker.. it was her demeanor and such.. but we could be wrong. She was fun though. It was mostly packed with old people.. and believe it or not, was Bingo night!!! After Bingo night, the music started playing as crazy menopausal women went up and danced as me and Freddy made up stories of their lives.. That's fun.

Then there was a performance on the beach.. the Firering stuff. a young boy hopping through 1, then 2, then 3.. then major clapping.. and then a man holding a stick, some heavy basket on his head walking through a rope high up in the sand.. That was quite fun..

around 10.. we went to Tito's club.. It wasn't very packed, although it is known in lonely planet as perhaps india's most famous club.. but people watching was worth more than a good crowd.. it was all locals.. The people in Goa are very liberal, may be slightly religious by default but by no means traditional.. All into the sex, drugs & rock n roll scene.. I have some of the dance moves and awkwardness filmed, so hopefuly i'll be able to post it all this weekend.. So you will have to go through every entry to see!!! There was one short indian man that was OUT OF CONTROL funny with his dancing, very creative with the moves and lured us into dancing ina circle with him.. he was with a girl, which we made up a story that it could be a cousin that he's being arranged with..

After some Mojitos.. we were ready to hop to the next.. we went to Morries next door.. it was more hookah/lounge scene.. more young backpackers.. packed place so we invited ourselves to sit with this Young, decently attractive Israeli dude. So his story is that he works for the Israel Embassy.. he met an Indian bollywood model in india over a year ago, recently started dating, came to meet her but it didn't work out.. He seemed definately down n the dumps, quiet, mellow.. and a bit scared of Freddy & i, since we were in buzzed silly mode and making up crazy stories of ourselves (if you could imagine!)

We had some more mojitos at this place.. and then hopped to the next.. I dont remember the name.. Something along the lines of Cock n Bull bar.. I apparently somehow managed to make this gay guy think that I was pissed at home, which I truly dont know how, and him coming up 20 minutes later with 3 beers for us saying sorry.. I might have just given him an annoyed look had he said something but not even realized (i have been infamous for that i guess..)

We were bored with the night so we headed back to Anjuna to see if Paradiso club was happening.. it was around 2 or 3.. it wasn't, however the lady outside with the drunk food was wide awake.. and made us each an egg sandwich with cheese, raw onions, salt pepper.. My new favorite drunk food next to bacon wrapped hot dogs outside of LA clubs !!!

Wednesday morning.. I woke the girls up around 9:30, we went to Manipal by public bus.. 8 rupees a person, about 20 cents.. quite disgusting packed with people but an experience.. the local town to mail a package for Catalina to the locals she met while in med school.. and to pull out more money.. We decided we couldn't handle a bus again so we took a taxi.. Went to a restaurant (all beach front, in hut like joints) by our hotel rooms.. I had a Red Snapper fish which was pretty good but too many bones.. The seafood here is cheap and amazing and fresh..

Afterwards we went to the Wednesday Mapusa flea market.. It was fun as it was packed on this empty land that reminded me of Coachella or what I'd imagine Woodstock to be.. Didn't get anything since its the same stuff i've been seeing everyday... Afterward we laid on the beach during sunset, started the drinking with a beer around 5.. and a quesadilla.. We went to Curlies bar afterwards for about an hour which was highly recommended to me by 3 different people.. There were about 10 steps from the restaurant to the beach as everyone, mostly the older hippies , already high off something watching the sunset..

That was probably the highlite of my day.. We showered after and headed to Nine Bar which was said to be something one must experience in Goa. We were there for about 45 minutes. Basically a rave, hard core trance people, mixed with locals and travelers.. At this kind of place, anything can happen.. FOR EXAMPLE. An old traditional hindu looking lady , around 55, the type u see just walking on the street ... came up to us and asked us if we wanted Weed. Can you believe it? Yes , anything can happen in Goa. The beach at Anjuna was nothing special.. but it was the party packed scene which made it unique. After nine bar, we went to another club, that playd a mix of hip hop and trance.. It was nothing special and i was getting restless, so i left shortly after, as it was just a stumble away from my hotel.

In the morning I was over Anjuna and took a taxi to where I am now, Palolem beach. My favorite.. its less crowded, the beach is prettier, basically the sand circles the ocean.. a lot classier although filled as much with young hippies and backpackers, a much better looking scene of young men.. It really make a difference when you have a nicer beach with good looking men.

I had some Kingfish at a restaurant on the cliff.. about 6$ for a great meal.. started shopping and inquired about taking a boat to Butterfly beach to see Dolphins.. the local called his friend who does that every morning and he came quickly. I dont remember his name but a real chill nice local.. He said tomorow morning at 8 am would be better to spot dolphins. So i shopped a bit, and inquired about my last Ayurvedic massage - as u can see, im addicted. That same guy directed me to this little hut his friend owns.. i did an 80 minute full body massage for 14$.. it wasn't as good as the one in Thekkady (which is unforgetable) but not bad.. it was in a little hut, smaller than my living room, with 3 beds, seperated by cloth in between..

When I got out, that local had waited for me (these locals think , and i guess it is true in many cases, that western girls are easy.. well of course easier than the women here.. but its also stupid..) I asked him where I can shop more and he offered to take me on his scooter bike (everyone has one, even the travelers rent one, about 5$ a day..).. It was a bit sketchy but i said why not. He took me on his bike through the village to the main shopping strip on the other side of beach. He tried to invite himself to dinner with me but I had fabricated a story that I was meeting with 3 friends. He asked why i was asking about the boat alone then, I said they had already gone.

After some shopping, i stopped by this restaurant/bar (tehy are all like that..) for some food around 4 pm.. 3 English guys invited me to sit with them. The craziest, funnest guys I've met so far.. Im meeting them after this blog at the same place for booze. One guy is in his 50's or 60s, says his occupation is Golf back in eNgland, is in Palolem beach for 4 months, just right there, not movin anywhere.. totally a hippie with penguin tattoo's circled around his arms.. the other guy is an actor in England.. and the third is in the music industry, both in their late 20's to 30's.. Absolutely hilarious, having vodka and tonic and dancing away.. I'll have to share with you the album names we were listening to..

I had a chicken curry. which i requested death spicy, indian spicy.. but wasn't that spicy. Im not sure if they are not believing me that i truly want it intoxicating spicy, or if my spicy tolerance have gone over the edge where nothing satisfies me. I think my next journey could be destinations known for their spiciest food. We'll see..

I just showered and freshened up.. its around 8 pm. my last night!! Oh im so excited to be back. not that i dont wanna tour india some more, but 3 weeks is such an awkward time to go through india.. Tomorrow morning i take the boat ride, then get some Henna,.. and i have a taxi the English boys scheduled for me at 11:30...

Farewell india.. i'll be back in several years for at least 3 month of traveling.. to a year.. and becoming of the local hippies with scooters, a vegetarian, anorexic, henna everywhere..

Oh and my standard of living here seems to be getting more disgusting.. My last night here, i thought i'd get a nice hotel, but instead the first hut i saw, Rainbow Bar & hotel, i settled.. its literally a hut built by bamboos, covered by cloth.. with 2 community bathrooms/showers in the back.. I have been brushing my teeth out of shower faucet water.. Only my first 2 nights did i have hot water (which i dont mind cuz its so humid here)..

I am really surprised that i have not gotten sick, since it is suppose to be a fact that everyone gets sick, diarrhea, vomit.. I think that I eat so much junk in the US my bodies immune to it.. take it as a good or bad, i dont know.

Alright, off to some King Fisher.. and im sure vodka eventually with the English whacky boys who have "taken over this bar" for the week and promise to make it a hit tonight. See you Saturday night !!!










Oh, P.S. Aside from having to be in a Bollywood music video, or movie, as a main actress - Maybe as the Asian mistress from Vietnam, Japan or China as the man is doing business there in the booming industry.. or the Tibetan/Nepali girl the Indian falls for although his family shuns... I have decided before I die, that I must get Dreads.. It will have to be in a travel experience of at least 2 months, as there is no way in hell Im going back to the states in Dreads..

The end.

Advertisement



6th March 2008

Hippie
OMG you are back the day after tomorrow! Exciting! We will have story session for sure!!! Even though we all "know" your adventures so far because of this blog..stories are always better in person when the person is explaining with hand motions and voices and facial expressions lol!!! Although I know I am abnormally animated for a human being (but not too much for a cartoon character) which is why I feel that facial expressions and body language makes a story even better, I know that you know how to get animated and tell a great story so I am excited! Ok I am rambling...anyway British guys can be hilarious! I dont know about this dreadlock talk lol but you never know maybe it will be a good look for you lol! But for now I think you should start with something smaller..like BANGS lol jk! Anyway cant wait till you are back! Have a safe flight and see you soon! Love ya!
21st August 2008

Loved your great adventure
You should make this a 200 page book! It would certainly publish! I loved the small details, the young children with their backpacks half unzipped. The mean tour man! Loved it!!! I am a film director and will be going to India in January! I am working on a film about an an American rock star backpacking through India.. Your adventure gave me some good insight! Please drop me a line sometime! Maybe you'll get your Bollywood chance! Julia
23rd August 2008

you're not a hippy, aint' you ?
I was in Goa back in the hippies time, the seventies (a bit after the glorious years) and I am amused at your comments..."an hundu woman propose some weed, can you believe it !!!!" muhahaha go to Varanasi, you will be proposed heroïn ! what about peshawar back in those days....? you should have seen that ! I think I will retire in Goa. Bamboulé !!!
9th December 2009

Interview
Hi, My name is Naina Sethi, and I am a reseacher on Hippie Culture. I started my research twentry days ago for two reasons. First, meeting new people really fascinates me. And second, I want an internship at NDTV , India- which is the biggest television network in India. I have more aims in life. I also want to become editor in chief of Elle India. For now, I am in High School. But please don't judge me on my age- I am way too mature . I want to interview you via email- if only it is alright with you. I am writing a paper on hippie culture. If you are interested, please email me back as soon as possible at nainasethi_13@yahoo.com . If you agree to get interviewed via email, I can keep your name and information confidential ( If you want ). I would love to ask you questions- because I presume that you just had an experience worth talking about ! Thank you so much !!
6th June 2010

fun read
Thank you for the entertaining insight. I'll be headed to Goa for a few weeks in July so I'm reading randomness via intraweb :) i'll be traveling alone too, but i'm a guy, so it's just more awkward as people tend to be less open to a guy than a girl. enjoy, and thanks again. keep traveling! -Aaron

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb