The grand prize...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Anjuna Beach
January 28th 2008
Published: January 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So here is how the conversation went, roughly...

-Hello sir, how are you, I am a student but I work part time for this resort here in Baga... Where are you from? Ah! Canada. Well, please, pick a card here, a promotion card, yes sir, no worries, no committement. Now, let's open it.... Oh my God, sir, you won the consolation prize!!! No worries, see, it is written there, now worries, no hassle, no committement... You just have to follow me to the resort and pick up your prize. You are a couple? Sir? No? It is okay, we wil just pretend you are. COme with me, free taxi, we go to the resort. Trust me, you can keep my scooter, you pick up your prize, a nice cruise from Baga beach...
-Well, we have things to do, sorry...
-But sir, if you come with me, no problem, but I get 200 Rs, so you have to come, you won a prize sir... Madam, you pick one too...
-Well, I don't need one, thanks...
-YEs, madam, please, take one.... Now, let's open it... OH MY GOD MADAM!!!! You won the grand prize madam!!! OH MY GOD. there is only 4! AND you know why I say Oh my God? Because that means I get 2000 Rs Bonus!!! See your price? It could be A) 7 day trip to Bali, from your country, B) a scooter, C) a $1000 stereo system or D) an iPod. (I have the feeling I got the iPod...)No worries, no hassle, you come with me, we pick it up, you pretend you are a couple.You come with me now to Baga, Oh you have a scooter, you follow me then...
-Ah, seriously, I have things to do... Thank you...
-But Madam, this is the grand prize, sir, you have to come. It has to be claimed by 5 pm, an it is now 4:30 pm...
(This is just part of a 10-15 minute deal at 1000 words per minute, in very good English, I have to say... we ended up not going to see the end of this big adventure that we missed, but we are still laughing about this little anecdote, days later...But what if I REALLY won the REAL grand prize! Damn, I'll never know...)

So life in Goa is just that. Little fun things that happen every day, when we are not just plainly relaxing on the patio of the house. A few escapes to the markets, I found a great tailor and will never want to wear jeans again! THese huge pants are so comfy! Then there was the day the nice cow, all dressed in her beautiful colors, and the owner with his flute came to our door, it was a national holiday, but the owner of the house didn't like to have a nice cow on his land so they left... The flute player seemed unhappy, the cow didn't seem to care.

THen there are the dogs sleeping right in the middle of the narrow roads, sleeping and not even moving even if we drive right next to them. Faith, they have.

So I am still, every day, loving it here. I can't get enough of watching the colorful saris, all these beautiful and smily women, in bright colors and beautiful black hair. I love to watch the monkeys that come every other day in the trees in front of the house. And the HUGE bats at night. I love the wind in the palms trees. A peaceful life. Oh! I forgot to mention the good food... Fresh fruits. And the rest of the time is just spent watching the sun set on the ocean or the moon rise over the hills...

OK, I have to admit, everything is NOT perfect... We are having a cold spell... 16.5 Celsius, and you might not believe it, but we all think it is freeeeezing cold!

More photos later, I had a bit of a disaster on my e-mail account so I will try to answer all of you in the next few days.... I hope I didn't loose too many e-mails in the mass deleting process...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 26; qc: 109; dbt: 0.1225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb