On route to Darjeeling


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Assam
September 21st 2007
Published: September 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm writing to you from an internet cafe in Guwahati (Assam), back to where I was on Tuesday. We had to come back through here to get to our next destination...Darjeeling! Looking forward to many nice cups of tea there.

Yestarday we travelled in the area surrounding Shillong where we saw the 'Elephant falls' (waterfalls) and Shillong peak (viewpoint from which you can see Bangladesh). There's a huge milatary presence around here and they are quite strict about security. After our tour aorund Shillong we headed for Lake Umiam. We stayed in a resort on the lake last night and had a very lazy afternoon and evening and morning today. The scenery is stunning, the nicest party of India I've see by far! Went out on the Lake on a pedalo this morning.

Didn't have too good a night sleep last night unfortunately. Went to bed early as planned to get up early this morning and see the lake more before 12 noon check out but had drunk guests next door trying to open the adjoining door between their room and mine! Phoned security and they sorted it out. Also had a small lizard falling off the ceiling onto my head as I was dropping off to sleep! Did however manage to get up at 7.30am despite all that!

Since arriving we've overheard quite a few people guessing where we're from. They know I am foreign but can't quite decide about swarup. So far all the guesses for me have been America! Swarup has has s. african and sri lankan. Hmmm!

I better go, my money's almost up on the inet. Am off for my train to darjeeling.

xxxxxxx

Advertisement



17th October 2007

Can't stop laughing!!!!!
Oh yeah.....what an experience you're having......something to remember for the rest of your life!!! Ijust can't stop laughing reading all this! Just wondering why you chose India for travelling in the first place......well I'll keep guessing and you keep travelling!!! and oh, you TAKE CARE .

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb