Hum dee dum


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andhra Pradesh » Hyderabad
January 26th 2007
Published: January 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I should have gone into town today. I figured that since Nani and Nana's plane was supposed to arrive at 5 this evening, I should stay on campus in case the plane actually arrived on time. But I wasn't too surprised when I got a phone call at 5 pm from them saying that the flight was very, very late. Oh well. This has been a lazy lazy day. It's Republic Day, so no school, and lots of sales in town...sigh.
I would like to have some salwar kameez suits tailored, mostly because I would like to go to a fabric store because that's lots of fun. I also don't have any salwar kameez, I just have some mid-length kurtas that are at the tailor getting altered. I was supposed to pick them up yesterday, but when I went with Pareen on Wednesday to pick up her clothes, he hadn't even started on hers, so I'm assuming mine would also not be finished. He's probably not there today, so I'm probably just going to see where everything's at on Monday.
One of the Hindi teachers is getting married, and she invited her class to the wedding. Now the rest of us are seeing if we can get in as well. It sounds like it's pretty common for random people to show up at weddings here, just because they're so large in the first place. We're going to call her and see if it's ok though. I don't have a nice outfit yet, and I'm not sure if I'm going to go at all, but it would certainly be fun if I did. And then I'd be all set for Sonny mamaji's wedding in Toronto at the end of May.
Wow, this is a really boring entry. Hmm, Kathak has been lots of fun. We've learned three different types of turns--one that takes 8 steps, one that takes 5, and another that takes 3. It's all really difficult, but so much fun once you do it right just that once. Then you're back to messing up a lot before you get it down again. The footwork is not too difficult. Mostly it's hard to get your foot back in the right place so that you can immediately start the next turn properly. If your foot's not there on the last beat, you pretty much fall over trying to get it back to
Peacock LakePeacock LakePeacock Lake

Water buffalo
the first position to start the turn again. What's really hard is adding the hand motions to the turns and footwork. That's been a bit of a stretch for all of us, but we're getting there. I should practice today.
Apparently I've been talking a lot about food, judging by Liz's recent comment 😊. Eating does seem to occupy a large portion of our daily and nightly activities. Speaking of which, I went to a Thai restaurant called Noodle Bar, and had the best Thai noodles of my life. I'm already looking forward to going there again. Really, it was that good.
Well, I think I'm going to go practice Kathak and then go to bed. I'm actually writing this portion of the entry a bit later than when I started. Nani and Nana are here, and they are at the VC Lodge--apparently the Vice-Chancellor of the university has a lodge on campus where guests can stay. They were supposed to stay at the Lakeview Guesthouse, but when they got there, they were told that they'd been moved to this other place, which was all the way across campus, and their cab had already left. So I walked over to
Peacock LakePeacock LakePeacock Lake

Flowers from prayers done at the lake
the Lakeview Guesthouse, and then we carried the luggage and walked to the lodge with the help and direction of someone who works there. Sometimes, I wish they'd tell me when they switch things up like this. Apparently there's some conference or something going on at the other place, so they switched some people out. In the end, it all works out, because Lakeview is really far away from where I stay, and the lodge is much closer, so that's quite convenient.

P.S. The pictures are from a walk that I took with Pareen and Gabriel--we walked down to Peacock Lake, which is actually very nearby to where my grandparents are staying.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Peacock LakePeacock Lake
Peacock Lake

If this wasn't so blurry, you'd see that Gabriel is making a sad face because his offering of dry grass was refused by the water buffalo.
Peacock LakePeacock Lake
Peacock Lake

Still trying to feed the buffalo.
Peacock LakePeacock Lake
Peacock Lake

And trying some more...


Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb