Flights and arrival


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
July 21st 2013
Published: July 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 1 - Flights and arrival
Up at 7.30, Claire picking me up at eight ish. Thanks Claire for getting me to Manchester in good time. I got out of Clair's car and was shocked by how heavy my backpack felt! I had been so careful to take less than las year. I really don't know what went wrong. I was teetering back and forth, as if I were going to keel over onto my back like a distressed tortoise!

Manchester to Dubai flight, I watched about four films back to back, then because we arrived in Dubai an hour late, I had only a two hour transfer which went by pretty quick. I seemed to get off the first plane, then a short wait and straight onto the next one! Dubai to Bangkok, I slept all the way on this one. I felt so tired! After the 'filmathon', all I needed was sleep! I did think I would be changing planes again, bit no, I just sit here whilst they all buzz around me, hoovering, giggling, and chatting whilst they prepare the plane for its next flight. The doors are open, I can really feel the heat difference. I think the air con has lulled me into a false sense of coolness.

Well, I managed ok.... Came through immigration ok, collected luggage ok, but I did see my name strap going around the carousel on its own, collected it. That was a bit scary, but about 20 mins later, my back pack followed! Off I went for my 'urban taxi'. At this point feeling very pleased with myself. Then 350 hi dollars later, the taxi randomly dropped me off in the busiest street ... Ever! I think he just got fed up of looking. I unloaded my stuff, and went off looking for it.

To say 'Yes Inn' is well hidden is an understatement! But after about an hour..... I found it! There is no one here from Real Gap, I think they have all gone out for the evening, but with me being so late, I missed it. I have been out walking to find an ATM, managed that, but The request got rejected! So I have no HK money left, well only about 50 dollars which doesn't buy much here. A shower and bed I think. Hopefully, everyone will regroup in the morning. A fresh start tomorrow


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



21st July 2013

Safe arrival!
Hey lovely, Glad you arrived safe and sound! Hope you find everyone tomorrow and it all goes ok... Look forward to seeing all the things you get up to! Big hugs Nadia x
22nd July 2013

hi lesley pleased to know you have arrived safely. hope you have met up with every one now. do you know why i call the city ankh morpork now!!! xxx
30th July 2013

Leesal!!!
I'm here at last lol - in catch up mode.

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb