Masterchef


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
January 10th 2010
Published: January 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

You will be pleased to hear that I am now a qualified Chinese cake making chef haha. This afternoon Jodie and I took part in a Chinese cake making class at the award-winning Wing Wah Cake Shop. We were taught by two Chinese chefs. They gave us demonstrations and then we got to bake and try our own creations. There was another 8 students in the class and reminded me of home economics at school. We all made Wing Wah Wife Cakes and Wing Wah Egg Rolls. It was so funny; we were cooking in an open air cooking area and had a little audience haha. I had one of my ‘what on earth is going on’ moments ……

I can’t stay away from the Hong Kong markets. I enjoy haggling, its good banter and always a lot of fun. Jodie and I went back to the Ladies Market in Mong Kok. I was a bit worried about going because there have been a number of acid attacks at the markets in Hong Kong recently. There was one last night at Temple Street market. It was on the news last night; some one threw acid out a window and onto the market stalls. There was definitely heightened security at the market today and the market vendors seemed on edge. I can imagine it must be quite frightening for them.

I’m going to Disneyland Hong Kong tomorrow in hope that I get a job as a professional Cinderella. If that fails I'll just spend the day prangin' aboot with Aladdin. I’m well excited haha. Watch this space ……..



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb