Life is like a box of chocolates


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
January 9th 2010
Published: January 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This afternoon Jodie and I met with our friend Eloise. Eloise took part in the Beijing Easter 2009 Study China Programme and is now studying in Hong Kong. She arrived last week so we thought it would be nice to do some sight seeing and have a good wee catch up! Eloise brought along a friend and we all went on a dukling boat tour along Victoria Harbour. It was really strange meeting up again at the other side of the world.

The sun decided to pop out so Jodie and I took advantage of it and went to The Peak. Victoria Peak is Hong Kong Island’s highest point and the view was absolutely incredible. It’s a good way to put Hong Kong into perspective. On the ground you spend most of the time looking up at the massive skyscrapers, the city is enormous. The sensible way to The Peak is via the Peak Tram. The journey takes about 10 minutes and it felt like I was lifting of to the moon - it was steep! There is a residential area just before the summit. It’s one of Hong Kong’s most expensive areas to live and includes some of the world’s most priciest homes. Have a look at the photos and imagine waking up to that each morning!

There are quite a few shops and restaurants at The Peak. I got a new wax seal stamp to add to my collection. Apparently my name means ‘flower of the fairy land’ in Chinese. I think the woman was telling me porkies because that’s not what my Chinese teacher told me! Mrs Fong would not lie! Ashleigh aka my most loyal penpal - as soon as I’m home I’ll be straight onto letter writing! I also visited the Bubba Gump shrimp restaurant and shop (as in the film Forrest Gump!). It was sooooooo cool! In the words of Forrest himself “that’s all I got to say ‘bout that” ……..



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb