King Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
November 7th 2008
Published: November 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

caged petscaged petscaged pets

this little toody was so ugly but cute, if ya know what am sayin'
Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Daddypops came with me to HK and alls I can say is THANK GAWD cause it proved to be a bit of an increase in all things financial and chaotic. After a very long journey to get there (including a crappy overnight in Manila), we arrived via the ferry from Macau. The ferry was real fast at times I wasnt sure if we were even skimming the water, I got a rather intense bout of travel sick pretty soon into the journey (but without the puking part) - even to the point that I couldnt finish my beer..... I KNOW! So by the time we had caught two trains and walked a little ways to get to our recommended hotel, they had no rooms left. So there we were, in Hong Kong with only one idea of a place to stay and no guide or map. Thankfully the lady on the desk was helpful enough to put us elsewhere (which I think turned out to be the same guesthouse, confusing I know). So this place was kinda cramped and the beds were stiff as hell. For those of you who know my pops, he handled this situation so well I couldnt believe it! He has a pretty bad back and even though he got next to no sleep both nights we stayed there he didnt really complain or mention this once until I asked him. Well done faither ;-) We'll make a traveller out of you yet I say...

So when we werent caught up in room booking issues we managed to get out and see a LOT of HK. Our first night was a bit of a non-event but we had ourselves a bit of 'local' cheap fare in an authentic chinese greasy spoon near our pad. We then tried to go get a cheap beer somewhere but it was like 11pm and we were quite far from the drinking parts of HK. We ended up going into a hotel that had a bar but it was swanky fancy indeed. So after watching a few couples kick it on the dancefloor, well as much as you can kick it when doing some Chinese/Cantonese traditional ballroom dancing, we promptly left without ordering and grabbed a coupla beers to take home! After the 2nd night we managed to get a transfer to a much nicer place in Kowloon, a little
Eagles, in Hong Kong?Eagles, in Hong Kong?Eagles, in Hong Kong?

yup, shitloads of them...
apartment that was supposed to be rented out for the month. The place was fully refurbished and brand new so we got full reign. I got so excited when I noticed our kitchen area and they brought us a hob so we ended up having a couple of home-cooked meals ;-) I've really missed cooking this past 7 months (I wonder if I'll forget my signature dishes?!oh no!). Anyway, with the accommodation side of things finally sorted we could relax and get on with seeing some things...

We did a lotta walking around, and spent a lot of time on the MRT which turned out to be a pretty efficient way of travelling. Our biggest walking mistake was hiking up to the botanic gardens, we later realised that there was a much easier, less taxing route we could have opted for, nevertheless its all good for ya I say! The botanics were wicked though, the aviaries were full of exotic birds and we saw a bunch of monkeys and a couple of orangutans. The orangutans looked so pissed off though, like they knew they werent supposed to be there. It made me feel a bit bad for standing there
FIRE!FIRE!FIRE!

This made national news and we saw it Live...it got much bigger too.
looking at animals who usually span hundreds of acres of land sit in a cage looking miserable. But we had fun.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

and there he is...and there he is...
and there he is...

dunno who those other two muppets are heh heh


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb