2fer Typhoons


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
August 21st 2007
Published: August 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Pabuk and Sepat paid visits to HK these past two weeks. Pabuk directly and Sepat to the north and both wound down to tropical depressions just in time. It was quite something to get caught out in the city when the typhoon warning 8 was issued which sends everyone home from the office, this happened about 3 pm on a Friday and needless to say, there was very little room in the subways for hours. I was visiting the Public Housing Authority's Headquarters/Museum in Hung Hom at that time and stood at the bus stop for 45 minutes wondering why no buses or taxis were passing. Little did I know about 'warning 8' but a few drenched hours later, I had learned all about it! The up side to a typhoon is that the cloud cover 'cools things off' into the low 90s in a Hong Kong summer!

It's been both a productive and fun few weeks these first two of August. I have written 5000 words on the dissertation (technically, that's 1/16th of the way! haha) and have relocated to my first housing love at City U, Jockey Club House, which underwent a summer renovation, relocating me temporarily to the 3,000 occupancy university housing complex. I am happy to be back with my beloved Jockey Club residents, all 93 of us--mostly international research and doctoral students--so things are relatively subdued!

I have also enjoyed some nights out with friends met during the language course. I feel so fortunate to have met some of the best people from several countries that "yuen fan" (Cantonese for "predestined affinity") could bring together. I have always believed I was pretty 'unrich' in most things except in friendship, I am the richest person there is...

between the Hong Kong Ballet performance of Swan Lake (incredible!) and drinks at Balailaika's ice bar, this has been a great beginning to August. I'm hoping to visit Macau, the 'gambling capital of Asia' soon and making plans to visit Japan in October. Sista' Jacque arrives from Beijing next week and I can't wait to catch up with her again. Thanks for keeping up with me and continuing to send your love and support across the miles--your spirit keeps me up every day!

Mesa




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb