I Lost My Hat in Koh Samet


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
August 15th 2007
Published: August 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After 5 days of; wake up, swim, eat, swim, read, eat, sleep, we were ready to head back to Bangkok to do some last minute shopping before flying back to China. Still trying to get the salt and sand out of my ears from being turned like a tumble weed in the wind from the oceans powerful waves, we boarded the ferry that would take us back to the mainland. It was a windy day. But ironically, it just had to be the warmest day of the time spent on Koh Samet. As I looked out on the open sea and began to reflect on my time spent on Koh Samet a gust of wind grabbed my hat from my head and threw it into the ocean. I thought about jumping ship to retrieve my favourite old sweat stained blue hat but feared the captain might continue on without me. So I had to say yet another goodbye. Goodbye to a dear friend of mine. Who never asked for anything but to not be sat on and to be worn proudly. Battling my outragous morning cowlicks and saving me countless hours from having to do something with my hair, I hope
Hiding her painHiding her painHiding her pain

Britt really didn't want to leave but she took er like a champ.
that you will join me in a moment of silence. Ok... Thats long enough....

We once again were back in Bangkok, loving life and eating great food. Although this would be the best time to be getting presents for everyone I know (due to the fact that everything is really cheap) I had to remind myself that I was already at my baggage limit for our flight home and anymore things could have me paying out the nose for being overweight.

On the 14th we then boarded our Bangkok Airways flight to Shenzhen! Arriving in just three hours we quickly grabbed a hotel and went out for some drinks. If you ever have the chance to go to Shenzhen check out "The Terrace" in Shekou. The band was amazing and the drinks were great.

I started today with my breakfast buffet ticket in hand and made my ways downstairs. Becuase the hotel was quite expensive I figuered I'd eat as much as possible to make up for how expensive the room was. This must be a "man" thing becuase no women would ever think of doing this. I'm sure of it. Anyways, after eating way to much,
Freshly Squeezed Orange JuiceFreshly Squeezed Orange JuiceFreshly Squeezed Orange Juice

These bottles of heaven were found on most corners of Bangkok! Delicious!
we set off to catch the ferry to Hong Kong. I've always stereotyped ferries as being slow and gentle. Today that stereotype was broken. The ferry from Shenzhen to Hong Kong was fast and due to the rough water ment for a ship jumping up and down, and rocking side to side.

Simple math: 1 oversized breakfast + 1 ferry that is crashing through the water = Me throwing up repeatedly. I did it to myslef. But I'm feeling a little better now and am ready to see Hong Kong!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Not everything deep fried is good.Not everything deep fried is good.
Not everything deep fried is good.

There's not enough mustard to get my guts to try these.


Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb