Hikking in Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
June 30th 2007
Published: June 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I joined an organised hikking tour of Tai Tam Country park and The Dragons Back. The walk was 10km and finsihed near the wonderfully named village of Shek O. In total their were 4 of us that turned up. The rain was heavy again during the night, but it had dried up enough in the morning so I decide to go. Five no shows though.
We meet at the central post office at 9am and took the bus up to the Wong Nei Chung Gap. From there we walked though the country park past Tai Tam Reservoirs. The scenery was wonderful and it reminded me of home in many ways. The rain threaten to come on, but it never did.
We walked over a place called the Dragons back. It was 8 peaks in the mountain range close together that had a reddish coloured rock under feet. They say this is the dragons blood from all the walking. After that it was a steep steady decline down to the main road.
There you can get the bus back to central or the oppisite direction takes you to Shek O. Me and one of my fellow walker(Philppe from France) decided to go to the village to see the beach and to have lunch in one of the seefood resturants there.
When we sat down, the rain came on. The timming couldnt have been better. The rain was the heaviest I have seen it so far here. Considering we have had rainfall of 50mm and 70mm the past two days, that says a lot.
Got the bus back to San Wu(I think) and jumped the MTR back to my hotle. I must have looked a bit strange to my fellow passengers with my dirty clothes and the sweat still rushing out of me.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Tai Tam Country Park5Tai Tam Country Park5
Tai Tam Country Park5

Two of my fellow hikkers. Philppe from Paris and Corry from Philedelphia.
Tai Tam Country Park9Tai Tam Country Park9
Tai Tam Country Park9

Down below is the village of Shek O
Tai Tam Country Park10Tai Tam Country Park10
Tai Tam Country Park10

On top of the Dragon's Back


Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb