Oct 4, Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong
October 4th 2017
Published: October 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Another long night. I am not tired during the day, thankfully, but end up dosing most of the night. What a pain and a good reason for me to travel for longer trips to make the jet lag issues worth it.
John had to pick up a part for a dishwasher for one of his condos, which meant we took a bus and then two metros to get somewhere deep in the new territories. Not any tourists in this area. It was a successful trip.
We then headed to a local market area. The night before I left on my trip, the strap on my watch broke and I really miss having a watch handy. We found a vendor who fixed it for 20 HK dollars, about 3 cdn, wonderful. John speaks Chinese so it is way more fun shopping when communication happens. I also bought hiking poles for 15 cdn, so I can justify leaving them behind. I also bought a new wallet and a money belt to provide another level of pickpocket protection in India. John bought some add on lenses for his IPhone camera.
We then took a cab to Kowloon and went to the top of the Ritz Carlton, 100 floors high.
Checked out some stores in a beautiful mall and had a tasty Schechuan meal.
Time to head back so another subway ride and bus ride and we were back by 3. Packed and changed and caught the 3:30 bus to the airport. By 4:30 I was through customs, then exchanged my spare money and found my gate ready for my next adventure.
The plane was an hour late, the flight was uneventful, I had the right window seat but was unable to see the Himilayas in the dark.
Typical border crossing/ entrance delays but finally made it through. Found my pickup van, and I was going to toss my backpack in the van but a fellow grabbed it and threw it in for me, then followed me and demanded a tip. I should have kept some HK dollars but had exchanged them, fortunately there was a 1 USD, which I gave. Otherwise I only had $20 bills.
The streets were dark, with many people walking. Near our hotel a party filled the street, we had to inch through, with people banging on the sides.
The hotel is the Kathmandu Guest house is very nice. I organized myself, showered to cool down, no air conditioning, and was in bed before 1 am.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb