First destination- Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
May 23rd 2014
Published: June 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

What up





What up friends, so some of you have been asking me about my travels and I figured in order to not spam Facebook I will make a separate blog to share my experiences. If you're here to hate, I suggest you stop reading now. Because I don't care about the opinions of close-minded people. Anyways let me begin.



So this year started off pretty rough, I'll save the details. Thankfully I saved up some money to travel and decided that I would hit up a couple of places this summer, the first destination that I am visiting is Hong Kong. Now when you hear Hong Kong, the first thing you probably think of is high-rise urban buildings and people cluster. However, where I am staying in Hong Kong is not the stereotypical overpopulated, people dense inner city of Hong Kong.

The area I am living in is called Discovery Bay and it is on Lantau Island. Discovery Bay is also one of my favorite places in the world as it is a community made of both westerners(white people) and Cantonese, which I can easily relate to, having grown up in Canada. Discovery Bay is also a privatized resort community so it does not resemble the stereotypical high-risey Hong Kong. It is a very relaxing and lovely community, with a strong vehicle limit policy in order to reduce noise, traffic cluster and pollution. The main vehicle of choice here are Golf Carts, which are also extremely hard to obtain as there are only 500 Golf Carts allowed within Discovery Bay.

My aunt's condominium is very relaxing and I have been able to focus and gather my thoughts. The view is also fantastic, as there is both a mountain view and a sea view (refer to pictures). The beach here is also very clean and not extremely popular so one can always find a nice spot to relax on. Also since this area has a high population of Westerners/expats (people who work abroad), primarily using English is acceptable and that is very convenient for someone like me, who grew up in another country and does not speak the native tongue very well.

Although I have had my fair share of negative experiences here as well, being yellow-skinned I am not treated as a tourist even though I am here on vacation. Some stores and restaurants view me as a local and do not give exceptional service (not that I mind) however I do mind when the more touristy-exotic "westerner" is given a table before me though I had been waiting longer and I am forced to make a complaint towards the manager (yes using English, also some of you may know how resilient I am towards receiving equal service). Also this has only happened once, and the manager did make up for it with a free appetizer so I will not be disclosing the location of said restaurant (food was also decent).

Any who, thanks for reading my ramblings. If you enjoyed reading about my experience so far, do stay put I am due to make more blog posts. I also love hearing others' travel stories so do send me a personal message or leave a comment regarding your own travel experiences anywhere!

Later days.
Ad Altiora Tendo
(I strive towards higher things)

-M Lui

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb