Time for some Culture – Lantau Island


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
October 1st 2011
Published: November 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Lantau Island

The route to Lantau, the trip to the Tian Tan Buddha, Tai-O and the cable car ride back to Kowloon.

The Gateway to 'Big Buddha', Lantau IslandThe Gateway to 'Big Buddha', Lantau IslandThe Gateway to 'Big Buddha', Lantau Island

Welcome to TianTan Buddha, the largest bronze seated Buddha in the World. This thing was M-hassive.
Four days in and Winne went off with Irene to meet her brother. I took the opportunity to head out to Lantau Island to see the temple complex there with the largest bronze seated Buddha in the World (Tian Tan Buddha). I got chatting to Idske, a Dutch girl and Julia, a German girl on the ferry ride over and we took the trip round the monastery up there making star jump photos. The way home was via a glass-bottomed cable car over mountains and ocean, which was pretty cool, but not good for my vertigo!

By chance I'd learned it was a Chinese National Holiday (note to self - consult guidebook) and so I headed down to the harbour to watch the firework display, which was pretty awesome, especially hearing the explosions reverberate through the city skyline. Afterwards I hooked up with Winne and Irene again before heading out to Granville Road for some dancing in 'All Night Long' with a random meet - Jon, a Canadian working in HK.

The next day the girls wanted to head to Lantau Island to mirror my trip from the day before so I travelled with but headed to the South of Lantau to a small little fishing village called Tai-O. A very quaint place where the houses are made from the reclaimed parts of old boats, I visited the dried fish market before trekking out to a number of small temples and up into the hillside to try and catch a view of the white Chinese dolphins. Alas, the only white dolphins I saw were made of plastic and I got thoroughly wet through in the process, thanks to Typhoon number two! After a fleeting visit to the hill-top Pagoda I meandered back through the village to a monastery at the other side of the island, only to be greeted by a modeling shoot. As they say, 'When in Rome', so I whipped out my lens and got involved.

A trip back to Kowloon to meet the girls and a few drinks later I had booked my flight over to Ha Noi in Viet Nam for the next part of my adventure (note to all, never use eDreams as they are a pack of bastards). A few farewell hugs at the airport and I checked in for my Viet Nam Airlines flight- good night Hong Kong and good morning Viet Nam!


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Tian Tan Gateway EntranceTian Tan Gateway Entrance
Tian Tan Gateway Entrance

This says, 'Please can I take your order'?
Imperial GuardsImperial Guards
Imperial Guards

All around the bottom of the Tian Tan Buddha complex were these oriental warrior statues with different types of weaponry. Kick ass.
Tian Tan BuddhaTian Tan Buddha
Tian Tan Buddha

A close up of the raised palm, you can see the intricate carvings for peace.
Offerings to BuddhaOfferings to Buddha
Offerings to Buddha

All around the statue were large sculptures of people giving various offereings to the Buddha.
Tian Tan BuddhaTian Tan Buddha
Tian Tan Buddha

The upper platform.
Burning InscenceBurning Inscence
Burning Inscence

All arond the complex inscence was burning to pray for past, present and future life.
Tian Tan BuddhaTian Tan Buddha
Tian Tan Buddha

The view from the cable car back to the bottom of Lantau Island.
The Lantau Cable CarThe Lantau Cable Car
The Lantau Cable Car

My car had a glass bottom... and I hate heights...
Tai O Street MarketTai O Street Market
Tai O Street Market

Basically dried fish. It stank like shit.
Old Woman with Dried FishOld Woman with Dried Fish
Old Woman with Dried Fish

Say what you see. I'm not sure who smelled more, her or the fish.
Old Woman#1Old Woman#1
Old Woman#1

I seriously saw her everywhere picking up shit.
Tai O PagodaTai O Pagoda
Tai O Pagoda

Just rewards after walking for miles up slippery steps.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb