At the Airport


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
April 3rd 2008
Published: April 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm at the airport and my flight is set to leave in... 2 hours and 20 minutes. It's been an active (sort of) last few days. At least, I've moved over large distances!

I left Beijing on the train, and after some panicky moments where I didn't think I was going to find the right entrence, some guy from Hong Kong helped me find the right place. Customs was fairly basic, except when the girl at the desk called another girl at the desk over to examine my picture, and they both laughed. That was a little odd.

I was in a room on the train with the young guy and girl, who didn't speak a word of english (well, to be fair, the guy spoke about as much english as I spoke mandarin). I read a lot, and saw some pretty fascinating scenery, and did little else. Apparently the soft sleeper on this train favoured the western sytle toilet, which was a pretty large improvement for me. I slept a lot.

Arrived in Hong Kong, blahblah, got to the hotel/dorm area, settled in. The dorm at the Salsbury was completely empty except for me the entire time, which was very nice. The first night was freezing though, so I stole a blanket from one of the other beds the second night.

I went up to see the Buddha on Lantau Island on my one day in Hong Kong, and didn't really see it. It was so foggy, I got lost trying to find the entrance to the stairway up, before finally finding it (it was about 10 meters from the busstop, to give you an idea). After walking up the stair, I realized that you couldn't actually see the Buddha's face through the fog. It was kind of mystical and eerie, and all that jazz, but still a little dissapointing. I opted out of walking the trails in the area, since I really didn't want to try and get myself completely lost on the island before I went home. I was intensely amused by all the signs warning about feral cows on the road down to the ferry. I kind of got a picture of one of them (the signs, not the cows, unfortunately. There were cows, though).

Saw the light show and was disappointed. It might have been better without the fog. Went to the temple street night market and picked up my last few gifts before heading back to the hotel for bed. This morning, packed up and caught the train here. Yaaaay!

Sorry for the rushed entry, I have to head out fast (and dispose of this disgusting doughnut I bought in exchange for computer time...).

Advertisement



12th April 2008

@_@ i'm so excited to see your photos....!! and you know, probably one of these days, i'm going to sit down with you and drag out all the details from you about how you went about arranging all this stuff.... i'm thinking about doing something similiar one summer, or after i graduate. in the library today i saw a book of chinese architecture... ^^ i thought of you.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb