Is this really Hong Kong?


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lamma Island
January 18th 2005
Published: January 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Lamma WildernessLamma WildernessLamma Wilderness

This could be anywhere. Certainly not Hong Kong...
I took the ferry out to Lamma Island. I love being on the water, so half of the fun for me was to ride the ferry. I can't believe how easy it is to get around in HK. I believe that the ferry only cost a few US dollars (by this point, I had finally learned the exchange rate, and no longer felt the need to think in terms of water bottles).

The funny thing was that there were a bunch of kids that were apparently playing games with one of the crew. The kids would do something silly, then bang on the cabin door till someone came out. They'd then drag the crew guy over to where something of the utmost importantance had occured (like say, one of them put a coke bottle on their head or something), and laugh until the crew guy would yell a bit (though I think he was into the whole thing, cause he seemed to smile a lot) and then head back into the cabin and close the door. The wierd thing is that I didn't see anyone else in the cabin, so I think that our smiling yeller guy was actually driving
More LammaMore LammaMore Lamma

Oh yeah, I am in Hong Kong... (looking to the right from the previous shot)
the boat. Good thing he kept returning...

Arriving in Lamma, I saw a mad village of stray dogs, and stray ex-pats milling about in no discernable order. The village itelsf contained a swirling mix of hippies zipping by on bikes, Indian restaurants, Chinese markets, and kids playing all sorts of games. All of this in narrow, winding streets. The "Family" trail lead out of town and into the next village. I took this trail, and soon discovered that I really was on a remote island. I mean I could have been anywhere in California. It was wierd! Not a sould to be found, save the fellow walker. And the occasional burst of school kids. And the occasional biker.

Speaking of bikers - I had this nifty experience. There was a 40ish guy really struggling to get his bike up the hill. He opted to hop off and walk it, but was really having a tough go at it. The odd thing is that his 60ish friend took the hill with no trouble at all. I offered to help him push, and together we beat the old guy to the top. He seemed grateful, and I felt that I
Lamma HouseLamma HouseLamma House

Random house in the country side. 99% of the houses looked NOTHING like this...
had done my bit to promote my country's good-will towards all men.

The concrete slopes continued even here on the island. Did they really think that the whole thing would just simply wash away? Apparently so. Verry Odd. But it seemed to work. The slopes were indeed still there.

I ended up in another tiny village, and had a super expensive fresh crab lunch. When I say fresh, I mean the thing was still squiggling around until he met his maker and my plate fresh.

After which, I hoped on another ferry that dropped me back at central.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Back In Hong KongBack In Hong Kong
Back In Hong Kong

The Aliens have landed. Green means that they are mad.
More AliensMore Aliens
More Aliens

I think that they are ready to mate...
Hong Kong for the birdsHong Kong for the birds
Hong Kong for the birds

Inside the aviry in Hong Kong park. Pretty nifty, actually.


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb