Hong Kong art museum and Kowloon Park


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
January 11th 2014
Published: January 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I walked all day today. I walked down to Victoria harbour from Tai Chi underground stop, I ate some local food (rice, two sausages and two slices of meat) and drank a lemon tea which actually was bitter. I went to the Art Museum which contained photos of HK, pottery, porcelain, ceramics and a few landscape paintings. I wasn't overly impressed but I did a pottery quiz to test different aspects of my personality and this took up most of my time.

Afterwards, I walked around the whole of Kowloon park. It contained a mosque where lots of people were praying outside, it had lots of different mazes and gardens inside, it had playgrounds, lakes , fountains and lots of flamingos. Flamingos are the most beautiful ad elegant animals I've ever seen. From their colours to their long necks they are beautiful, and they can reach so far with their long necks. Apparently they are sociable animals all year round and often go around together. Perhaps they are more sociable than Hong Kong society itself. Give them each an ipad and perhaps they will be so busy taking photos of each other that they will forget to hunt for food together and starve, that is what happens when humans forget to work together to keep basic standards of living.

After seeing the flamingos activity I realised something. I think it's important as human beings to know how many possessions we really need. As humans we could end up buying everything advertised, working all the hours there are to buy something we don't need, giving precious time to this end, because businesses advertise their products and society pressurises people to earn money (in order to keep a sense of security.) But where's the limit? I think everybody's limit is different. For one man to own five Mercedes cars and three houses in London wouldn't be enough whereas for one monk to own a pair of sandals, a clean robe and earn help from his neighbours would be enough. How many of us know where the limit is between what we need and what we want. Today I realised there was one for me and one thing I hope to achieve in life is keep within my limit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb