Back to HK, Part 2!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
May 7th 2013
Published: May 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm fully frustrated, we arrived back to HK today and changed our last $100 to pay for our lodging since no one here takes anything but cash if you're not staying at a higher end hotel. That went off fine but when I went to find an ATM to withdraw money from my capitalone360 account (formerly known as INGdirect) the machine says my pin is incorrect. So now we're pretty much cashless and I'm not sure if I should be mad at capitalone360 and its stupid pin, or the atm machines here if they're just rejecting my card. ARGH. So now I'm just sitting in our small little hostel trying to figure something out while John is snoring away. We did get up around 5am this morning to make it to our flight at 8:55am.



We got to the airport just about the right time and this time around we had to check one of our bags because the other one was full of stuff we bought so we crammed all our clothes into John's bag, making it go from 6.8 kg to 13kg. They boarded everyone on the plane and we all sat in the plane for about 40-45 mins without the air conditioning in Singapore! It was very hot, and everyone was uncomfortable because the plane actually lost the function of their air conditioning before it landed from the previous flight. They were waiting for another unit to be delivered to the plane before they could turn on the engine and get air to everyone. So we were delayed about half an hour before takeoff.



After the air came on, and the plane took off things were going better. We were pretty exhausted so nodded on an off until it was time to eat. With Air Asia, they give you an option of ordering your meals when you book your flight, and the perk of that is there are more food options and you get served first. Well, the first time around from HK, I just ordered us a coconut to tie us over since we left around lunch time and I assumed we would have eaten already. So this time I ordered us a pizza and drink since I figure by this time in the trip we would be sick of Asian food. Our coconut was good, and my pizza slice seemed ok, if just a tad bit dark. It reminded me of the stuff they served us in school, just really thick bready crust, nothing to write home about (HAH! But I apparently am!). I took one bite after reading the ingredients on the package and thought it was decent in flavoring but after the inspection I noticed one of the spots where it could be the 'white of cheese' it was a little fuzzy!!! Omg…. There's mold on my pizza. I showed John and he checked his slice and it looked a lot better than mine so he ate his while I waited for the attendant to come down the aisle to me again and I showed him the pizza and asked if I could get something else. He took it looked at it and showed his fellow attendee whose eyes immediately grew wide and apologized. The first attendant just one immediately offered me another meal option and they then apologized and showed it to the flight attendant who was handing out our meal. They all looked pretty shocked and apologized, she then took my boarding pass and said that she will return it after she takes some notes. I thought they handled that pretty well, John asked me if I was going to sue them, typical American. Anyhow the Chicken Rice meal I was given sucked so I gave half of it to John to finish anyway. I should be pretty healthy with a nice dose of penicillin courtesy of Air Asia. Lol.

I think today will be a low key day anyway, I will try my Chase ATM card later and see if I can withdraw money for an arm and a leg and live it up a little tonight. We are still up in the air about going to Macau so we'll see how that goes.



Pictures will be updated here at a later time

Advertisement



27th August 2013

Good posts
I enjoyed your HK (and other) posts. I read several parts to my wife. We always stop off in HK going to and coming from SE Asia, so have been many times. Good writing, good travels. Thanks for posting
21st October 2013

Thank you!
Hi Charles, thank you for taking your time to comment on my posts. I hope that you enjoyed the travel ramblings!

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb