Lost in Mong Kok


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
April 7th 2013
Published: May 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

HK advertisingHK advertisingHK advertising

You can't miss it.
I awoke feeling refreshed, ready for my last day in Hong Kong. My bus back to the mainland wasn't until 3pm, so that left me with plenty of time.

I took the MTR to Mong Kok. Usually a bustling part of the city, I was surprised by how peaceful it is when it's still waking up. Streets are nearly empty, shops are starting to open, people are out running morning errands and getting breakfast before the day begins. It's surprisingly quiet.

As the hours went by, the city came to life, full of energy and rhythm and ritual.

I wandered, and got lost, and found myself near one subway stop, then another. I'm not even sure where I wandered to, but I savored it all. As the hours passed, the city awoke and came to life, energy pulsing through its streets. Soon, the streets were crowded and alive. Every corner I turned yielded something new, something small and special. Little glimpses into everyday life. Snippets. I felt like I was part of it and on the outside, just looking in.

Life goes on. And I'm lost in the world. Sometimes, there's no better place than that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 122, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

I wanted to try this.I wanted to try this.
I wanted to try this.

But they were closed.


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb