A Day Wandering the Small Neighborhoods of GZ


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
April 13th 2013
Published: May 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My friend loves exploring as much as I do. So on a perfectly beautiful Saturday, she and I took the bus into the city and hit the streets with our cameras and senses of adventure. We took side streets, narrow alleys, the road less taken (at least, for foreigners). Whenever I do this, I find a side of China that I don't often see: quiet, peace, curiosity, genuine kindness. There's no rush of the big city, no desire to charge me three times more, just a simple life waiting to be shared.

And now I'm sharing the photos. Enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 65, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Isn't he handsome?Isn't he handsome?
Isn't he handsome?

Kinda short, though.
Our favorite lunchOur favorite lunch
Our favorite lunch

Curried shrimp and seafood in a pineapple. With bottomless tea. We already ate the spring rolls.
Worst dress everWorst dress ever
Worst dress ever

Who buys a wedding dress you can see through?
A hidden templeA hidden temple
A hidden temple

Right off of busy Beijing Lu, a busy shopping street, this was quite a surprise to find.
I love the contrastI love the contrast
I love the contrast

Old temple being renovated, old apts, new high rise.
This was a bridgeThis was a bridge
This was a bridge

My friend's father lived in GZ in the 1940's and remembers when the KMT blew up this bridge during their retreat. Now I think they're just doing major repairs.
Games in the parkGames in the park
Games in the park

Largest gathering I've seen in a while.


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb