Riding the Star Ferry in Xiang Gang


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
July 31st 2014
Published: July 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

I can't believe it.. I've been wanting to visit Hong Kong for such a long time and now that I'm here I have a cold... Just my luck..

With that said I went to travel on the Star Ferry. I'm staying in a hostel in Causeway Bay on Hong Kong island so the ferry is only a short tram ride away. The trams are a great way to see Hong Kong island. It's quaint to be able to ride through what feels like a city from the future on these pieces of history. They are the only remaining working double-decker wooden trams in the world.

I got off at Central and walked to the ferry. Hong Kong is very higgledy piggledy, much like a British city, and it can be quiet easy to get lost, and their are not only the pathways at street level but also walkways high up which are easy to miss. So after a little bit of meandering around I did finally find the ferry. What great value and what a view of both Kowloon and Hong Kong.

Hong Kong is a remarkable place almost like London in the Far East. Even though there are masses of people everyone is courteous, people stand on the right on the escalator in the metro, and the traffic is calm and quiet really nothing like the mainland. Another huge difference is that therw are people from all over the world here. Great not to be stared at everywhere you go!

Enjoy the photos

Jah Bless


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb