I love Chinese New Year!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
February 16th 2012
Published: February 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!

Sorry it's been so long, it's been a crazy month. So as you probably know, Hannah ended up coming out early and ended up coming to the Philipines with us which was amazing! It was one of the best holidays i've ever had, I didn't realise how stressed i'd been until I was sat in the hammock on our terrace with a San Miguel. I love Hong Kong, but it's a stressful place to live, always busy, always on the go, so it was lovely just to stop for a while. Before I got to the hammock though there was a night stop over in Manila which was not the nicest city! We spent an hour going through it on the bus before we got to our hotel and decided that was enough so stayed safely on the rooftop bar of our hotel. The week was spent drinking cocktails and swimming in the sea (the nicest sea I have ever been in, totally crystal clear, so much so that when me and Will were building a sandcastle and I got some water from the sea in a bottle, he got really confused and asked me why i'd bought a bottle of water just to make a sandcastle). There were a few (mildly) dangerous activites involved as well, we spent one day at a place called Ariels Point (otherwise known as paradise) rinsing the free bar and jumping off cliffs. There were 5, 8 and 15 metre jumps, and I was terrified enough on the 5 but I think I take after my mother and I don't like to be beaten by anything, even cliffs. So after a lot of 'practise runs' on the 5 and 8 metre I downed some rum and legged it off the edge of the 15. I'll put some pictures on, it was very high.

The following day me and Will decided we were now adrenelin junkies so me, Will, Maeve and Hannah decided to give scuba diving a try. I was really nervous about this because at least when you jump off something it's over in seconds but I though I might panic in the water and burst my eardrums shooting up. Once we got used to breathing from the oxygen tank in the shallows we got taken out in a boat to our dive spot, and went down 12 metres. It was amazing, we saw loads of cool fish and just had a lot of fun swimming about. I did keep drifting into coral and the instructer had to pull me out, noone else seemed to have this problem, as Hannah observed - 'christ how do you manage to be a moron even underwater?!'. I would like to do it again now i'm not so nervous, so I think i'm going to look at doing it in Thailand in the summer. The rest of the week was unneventful and brilliant, and i've got serious holiday blues now! Actually there was quite a funny moment when we accidentally found ourselves in 'Hobbit House' a bar staffed solely by midgets. Maeve's got an odd fascination with midgets, as I discovered a month or so ago when she shouted 'look jess a midget policeman!!' I quickly pointed out to her that we were in a school, and it was in fact a kid in his uniform. She was very dissapointed. So while the rest of us were looking really awkward and wondering if we should leave, especially when we noticed the lord of the rings mural on one wall, we turned round to see Maeve looking gleeful while clutching the menu and saying 'Get a picture of me with it!!'

Getting back into the swing of things at work now, I realised i'd really missed the kids -i'm going to be inconsalable when I have to say bye to them! We had our English Cafe the week we got back, which included an exhibition of P5's Dinosaur project that me and Maeve organised, it went really well and scored us some brownie points so we were really happy with it! I found loads of pictures from last term while I was looking through the school computer for our newsletter so i've put some on to prove I do actually go to work sometimes!

Got to run now, but lots of love to everyone. Miss you all but I can't believe how quickly June's going to come round! Hope you don't get snowed in! xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Arrived in Boracay! Arrived in Boracay!
Arrived in Boracay!

This is the kind of Tuk Tuk they have in the Philippines, more of a Wallace and Gromit style side car business. Going up a hill in the back of one of these is terrifying!!


20th February 2012

Lovely to read your blog although I can see why your Mum was nearly sick when she saw the jmp off the cliffs!! I said it reminded me of when Sally nearly pushed your Dad in when we were stood on the cliffs in Minorca! Looks like you had a fantastic time
Can't wait to see you in June. Lots of love Janxxx

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb