Shopping, Wandering, and a Night Out


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
December 10th 2010
Published: December 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We both got up early today and went out for breakfast. There's nothing better than pancakes when you're on vacation. We then went to buy our bus tickets home. Unfortunately, my bus choices were limited to 820am, 330pm, or 530pm. I hate getting up early and didn't want to short myself a half day in Hong Kong. But on the other hand, taking the 330pm bus back would have me arriving the same time as many students, and I might have trouble catching a ride back to campus since all the buses would be full. I could always take the bus to Guangzhou instead of Huadu, and then take the campus bus, but that just seemed like more work and more waiting time. I ended up choosing the 820am ticket for 90 HKD.

At this point we split up; I headed into the city and my friend went back the apartment to get ready before meeting her friend. I had a long list of shops to find and things to see, so it was time to get moving!

First up, the closest thing HK has to a Mac store. I was surprised that HK didn't have one or even
AdvertisingAdvertisingAdvertising

Many good things are from 1978
two. Luckily, I have a friend who was obsessed with the iPhone and used to come to HK every other weekend to play with them before he finally bought one; he was able to refer me to a reputable store that carries Apple products. Since my baby is five years old next month, and I'm finding myself more and more limited by her operating system and RAM and lack of storage, I decided that this summer will be time to get a new one. Five and a half years is pretty good for a computer these days. I had it narrowed down to two models, but the specs listed online were a bit too technical for me to do a comparison. After talking to one of the store employees, I concluded that the only differences were the amount of RAM (which can be upgraded at time of purchase) and that one is shiny silver metal while one is plastic. He said that a lot of professionals buy the more expensive one because they think it looks more professional (I see his point), but for a student like me, the less expensive model will suit just fine. I'm not sure which
BrrrBrrrBrrr

Ice bar, sitting on a block of ice, anticipating vodka!
made me happier: knowing the less expensive model won't leave me feeling short-machined, or having someone think I look young enough to be a student.

I did a little clothes shopping next. I had two items on my list and found one. I'm addicted to Uniqlo (Japan's version of the GAP) because they have a clothing line that's ultra warm while not looking like the dreaded long underwear of my youth. It's made of special t-shirt thin fabric and comes in shirts, leggings, socks, and everything in between. Since the numeric cost is the same as on the mainland, it's cheaper to buy them in HK. I bought three shirts and have been feeling pretty and warm ever since.

I had a light lunch at Pacific coffee while I read the book I brought with me. There's something really nice about being able to sit back with a fresh cup of coffee, read a book, and listen to Xmas music while people around you are quiet. Bliss doesn't even come close.

Next on the list was a travel goods store. I needed to buy little bottles for my 60 SPF sunblock, since the bottle it comes in
All the BestAll the BestAll the Best

Two lovely ladies, champagne, Seven-11, and a man cutting up cardboard boxes.
is too big for airport security. I was hoping they'd have travel towels (shammy-like) but they didn't. I spent the next few hours wandering through Central stopping in every store that said they carried luggage. No one had any idea what I was talking about and I got shuffled from department to the next over and over again. In one case, I wasn't even sure who worked in the store, since everyone's name tag said "Promoter." In the US, that means they are there doing a promotion for one product and don't work in the store. Asking, "Who works here?" got me blank stares, confusion, and an attempt to tell me the name of the store. Rumors that everyone in HK speaks English should be squashed immediately.

I went back to Pacific Coffee, bought more coffee, and then sat down to use the free internet I had observed earlier. I knew there was a travel store in HK, and I could see it and the location in my mind, but couldn't remember where it was! I've been gone too long. While I didn't find the travel store I was seeking, I did find information about a store that sells outdoor gear and camping supplies, including towels. I looked up the address on google maps and was off. Not only was I off, so was the marker on google maps, and I got lost, wandering around down by the water, wrapping my scarf around my neck so much it no longer had visible ends. I finally found the store and when I told the saleslady I wanted a towel she said, "We have five kinds." I was so happy I could have hugged her.

I went to a salad/wrap restaurant recommended to me by friends for dinner. They have custom wraps or you can build your own, all for under $50. I love eating cheaply in Hong Kong! I went home to relax and put my feet up before my big night out.

Around 1030pm I met up with some friends in Lan Kwai Fong, the bar district on HK Island. We went to a variety of bars, including one with an ice room where they give you 'fur' coats to wear and you sip vodka while sitting on ice blocks. We made a stop at Seven-11 for some champagne and drank it on the street while a man cut up boxes next to us. We went to a few more bars, had a good time, and left shortly after 3am. It was the best night out I've had in months.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb