Day 20 - The Peak, Bubba Gump Shrimp and my Last night in 'Honkers'.


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
November 21st 2009
Published: November 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

For my last day and night of doing stuff in Hong Kong I decided to finally go to the peak, to see the view over Hong Kong.

Although, I didn't head there until a little after 16:00, and by the time I had found the Peak Tram station, and queued it was already 18:00. I wanted to be able to take before and after dark pictures, but due to my lateness I could only take after dark pictures and that was then made worse by the fact that my camera isn't very good when its dark, and doesn't seem to have a low light setting! D'oh!

The tram ride itself seemed to be pretty simple, my fear of being in an old tram being pulled uphill by a cable hadn't been justified. That was until it hit the steep part, where I was litterally leaning forward to about 45degrees or more, I felt bad for the two guys standing as they were closer to laying on their fronts!!

The ride lasts for little more then 5 minutes, and my ticket was $58 and that included a ticket to the Sky Terrace, the best viewing point. Once off the tram, and past the old women trying to fight me for position - which, by-the-way was made increasingly difficult due to not only my BCG arm, nailless thumb and now a broken little two from booting my dad's exercise bike (by accident obviously, not a tequila fueled rage!), so I was forced to submit to the old women of Hong Kong more often then not sue to these three pain pressure points, so... once off the tram, I headed up the 5 or 6 needless escalators only in place to filter punters past each shop so they may buy more needless souvenirs. en route, I spotted; "Bubba Gump Shrimp", oh my word, if those that don't know me knew of my love of the film Forrest Gump, they would understand my excitement of seeing the sign, they even have one of those brilliant souvenir shops attached, I love it!! although, the major problem was, despite the cost, and rubbish designs on the t-shirts, that the only sizes they did or have were XXL or XXXL... which... maybe back in the day, I would have fitted, but now, a marathon trim 12.5 stone, only M or occasionally L are the fit of choice. (why don't they make XM? that would be perfect for me...) I went into the restaurant that had a brilliantly busy atmosphere, and coupled with the decorative walls and 'sets', looked like an entertaining place to eat. Sadly, my excitement dropped to annoyance and anger pretty quickly. I was placed near the kitchen, and it seemed to be a dumping ground for single customers. I then got the rush of people trying to get me drinks and food even though my coat was still on and I hadn't even been given a menu let alone looked at it. I was then shown the 'stop/go' licence plate system, red stops a waiter blue lets him pass. Which makes the whole thing rather tricky, each member of staff has tables assigned, but, they also have to stop as soon as someone shows a red sign. I ordered a beer, and then decided upon food. My beer came quickly, but my food didn't. There was only so many times I could repeat the obvious film quotes and stuff and laugh to myself and be childishly happy before BOOM! one of the members of staff decided to smash a chair leg into my real leg. Many apologies followed, but it was the start of the end for my love of Bubba Gump. After waiting for about half an hour, one of the 83 members of staff of duty asked me if I wanted food, I said yes, I'd love some, and he asked what I wanted, I said I'd already ordered and he again asked what I wanted, and he would check if it had been ordered. It hadn't. another 20 minutes or so passed before my food arrived. The place was a mess, not dirtywise, but in its execution and practice. There were soo many waiters and waitresses all running around like loonies but didn't seem to be accomplishing anything!! A big fat manager and very tired looking manageress stood near my table in the epicenter of the hive, and did just as little. just shouted things at the worker bees around them, and shouted louder as they walked away. I was sad that Bubba Gump had made me so childishly happy, and yet so quickly had turned sour, like an unwanted Christmas present, PS family members I love all my Christmas - ever!

After taking lots of pictures that are too dark, and freezing my tits off in the cold and exacerbating wind I headed back to the Tram, and to meet my entertainment for the evening. I headed for Soho to meet The Drunk English Girl, I'm not sure if she has a name, or her parents just foresaw what she would become... joking Camilla. I was told to bring my wallet, which still had some cash in after my vastly overpriced and delayed dinner, and put it to good use with cheaper Rum n Cokes then Lang Kwai Fong. Camilla introduced me to some friends, and explained the plan for the night would be to bar hop, and go where they hadn't been before. I can't really remember, and I don't often pay attention to the names of the bars we went to, but we went to quiet a few, and it was a very entertaining evening. My personal highlight was returning to the bar on the corner that I had been too many times before, and asking the barman not only the name of the place but if he could remember if I ordered the life destroying tequilas, or if he had given them to me. However, as soon as he saw me approach, he lightning fast, grabbed a bottle of tequila from nowhere, four shot glasses from thin air and before I could shout "NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!" the glasses were full. I then proceeded to tell him I couldn't and wouldn't drink them, and asked the questions I came for;

"did I order the Tequila"
"you want answers?"
"I want the truth!"
"You can't handle the truth...."

Well, it wasn't quiet that intense, or angry, but after some interrogation he folded and admitted to giving me the drinks as opposed to me ordering them, I knew I hadn't, it didn't make sense, I learn't my Tequila lesson many times, over many years. Jerome from Stormies, thank you!

After many hours of drinking, and hundreds of Hong Kong dollars spent, my drinking in HK came to an end. A Great night, and great time was had by all.

A big thank you to Camilla and her band of thirsty ladies!! And a huge shout out to Polly for letting me into a secret about women that I had been passing under my nose without my knowledge;

"You either show legs, or boobs. Both means you're a slag"

I am now enlightened, pure class.

Thank you and good bye to Hong Kong. Next stop would be Baguio in North Philippines on Sunday evening - Coming soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



30th November 2009

barstad!!!
I TOLD YOU THE WOMEN THING MONTHS AGO!!! I pointed it out repeatedly in Oceana´s and other slag-like places in Brighton!! nice to know you listen to me!!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb