Exploring the temples of Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
June 8th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Although one of the most modern cities in the world, Hong Kong is still rich with history and culture.

I try to visit Hong Kong once a year to visit my family...you would think that I know the region very well, but I do not. Every time I visit, I always discover something new...sometimes its because things are always changing and so there are always new buildings and shopping malls, but today, I stumbled across a small, run-down temple. Located in the centre of the district of Shau Kei Wan on Main Street East, next to the noodle shops, there is a small temple. It has always been there, but each time I've passed by, I've always overlooked it.

Dark and small, it really is easy to just walk or drive by without noticing it. But after talking to some locals, I've learned that though the temple is not often talked about or visited, it is known to everyone. Historically, Shau Kei Wan was a fishermen village, so the temples housed Tam Kung. Tam Kung was worshiped by fishermen because it was believed that he could control the weather and cure sicknesses. Before setting off to sea to fish for several days or months, fishermen would pray to Tam Kung for safety.

I used to think of Hong Kong as a place to shop and eat, which it is, but if I've looked deeper into the layers of the city and looked closer at the history, and I've discovered some of the most precious aspects of Hong Kong.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0913s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb