ChristMacau!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
January 17th 2009
Published: January 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

MountainMountainMountain

These first few pictures show the works of an architect who wanted to re-create several types of styles of buildings all over the world and display them in a touristy area in Macau
Forget the sleeping in, the excitement of running downstairs to the Christmas tree, the morning coffee accompanied by some dessert and cookies leftover from Christmas Eve's dinner party, the smell of pine in a warm house happy to be snug inside. Forget the Christmas day skating and winter activities, the hot chocolate waiting for you in a thermos on the side of the hockey rink, the coming home and getting ready for a family Christmas day dinner. This year, I did things differently. I went to MACAU!

I didn't have much planned, but Christmas eve night, I accompanied my friends Nick, Mickey, and Abdul (from Shanghai) for some drinks. We chatted, and before I knew it, I was going to Macau. It was completely last minute, but there's no chance I'm going to lose out on a chance to go, if not now, then when? I love the spur of the moment adventures cause they always turn out the best.

Anyway, I had to get up quite early to meet up with the group and it wasn't too fun as I had spent the night out on the town with Shawn club/bar hopping. Turned out to be a lot of fun amidst only getting 4 hours of sleep before Macau. I was oh so close to abandoning the entire plan in the morning through a huge hangover, a warm and cozy bed, and eyes that I just couldn't seem to keep open, but alas, my senses came to me and followed through with original plans and went over to the Macau Ferry Terminal.

What better way to perk me up than a good McDonald's breakfast!

Well, here goes my day trip!


Additional photos below
Photos: 69, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

European country?European country?
European country?

Sorry, I didn't see the exhibition and thus am not sure of where each building comes from.
MGMMGM
MGM

Lion
MGMMGM
MGM

This was very impressive because of the curvature.
Macau CN TowerMacau CN Tower
Macau CN Tower

We decided to go up and take a look.
Glass floorGlass floor
Glass floor

For some reason, you just have to take one of those feet pictures when you're presented with this situation.
Looking into ChinaLooking into China
Looking into China

Yeah, the further end is China...
Macau Macau
Macau

Slowly building more buildings, getting bigger and bigger. However, those high rises have stopped building given the circumstances now.
Very cool layoutVery cool layout
Very cool layout

Not sure of the purpose...
HighwaysHighways
Highways

It's very apparent, especially from so high up that most of Macau now was not present a few years ago..
AJ HackettAJ Hackett
AJ Hackett

It's SOOO commercialized and touristy. They were pumping techno beats to pump the jumpers up.
Huge statue on a buildingHuge statue on a building
Huge statue on a building

Most likely religious
Girl taking picsGirl taking pics
Girl taking pics

This was not a Bungy jump, it was merely a walk around the tower.


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb