Australia and other adventures


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
December 6th 2008
Published: December 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hold me closeHold me closeHold me close

What I miss when I'm away.
The best thing of returning from Africa was seeing Simone and Georgia together. They have such a special relationship. Both are growing, and Simone seems to cope with an amazing lot while being pregnant. In the 10 days I had been away, Georgia had grown and developed. Bigger teeth, a cheekier smile, a few more words (many more if you include those that only she and her toddler friends understand), and an adventurist streak were now more evident.

It was still only November, but the festive season starts early in Hong Kong. Relaxing with friends in the afternoon sun, with a BBQ and some Australian red, or formal dinners where the speeches are mercifully short, add to the fun of living here.

For a change of pace I returned to Canberra to do some research on my PhD. Once there I found out I had to give a seminar to academics on the theoretical framework, methodology and main arguments of my proposed paper. Yuk. Quiet contemplation went out the window, but by Friday I had a powerpoint presentation with more information than anyone could possibly want on the issue of Ayatollah Khomeini's influence in Arab countries of the Middle
the Aussie BBQ, Hong Kong stylethe Aussie BBQ, Hong Kong stylethe Aussie BBQ, Hong Kong style

Simone, Douglas, Vanessa, Barrey, Jennifer and Clemens, all survived my cooking.
East. Or at least that's what I thought. No sooner had I finished than a senior academic (who just happens to be on my PhD panel and the head of the centre that I'm doing the PhD through), said my project of developing an ideology of Khomeini's thoughts was flawed, it wasn't new, and his influence couldn't be measured. That didn't leave much of what I intended to do, and so was probably not what I wanted to hear. What followed was 45 minutes of robust exchange, with a few other academics intervening, some with critical, and some with supportive comments. But with luck, and a confidence built on ignorance, my proposed thesis was accepted almost unchanged (only deleting a case study on Saudi Arabia).

The rest of my time in Australia was spent more happily. In Canberra I stayed with Annaleis and Lachlan - Annaleis is the new Dean of John XXIII College, and so I was in the spare room of the apartment Simone and I used to live in, which was great fun. Catching up with friends was the highlight, and getting away to Glenn's house at Tapitallee was a day spa for the soul, as
On a clear day ...On a clear day ...On a clear day ...

Kowloon from one of the tall buildings on the Hong Kong side of the harbour.
was seeing my little mate Dominic and his proud parents. Melbourne was also a lot of fun, and waking in John and Jenny's new home, to the sound of kids and dogs, reminded me how special it is to spend time with family and friends - which I did quite a bit in Melbourne, having had the good fortune to stay Joan's in Doncaster, and took memories of their delightful company back with me to Hong Kong.

Now it is December in Hong Kong. The weather is cool, the pool is closed, the beach is fine for walking, and dinners with candle light have that pleasant touch of chill that marks the onset of Christmas. Georgia is a fun-multiplier for all things, but even more so for Christmas. She's our little Santa's elf who makes Christmas come true.



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Georgia and her butlerGeorgia and her butler
Georgia and her butler

We're a very formal family.
My place of study and tormentMy place of study and torment
My place of study and torment

The best PhD advice I ever heard was 'Don't do it.'
Which one is Mr Brady?Which one is Mr Brady?
Which one is Mr Brady?

John and Jenny's lovely family - from left Chelsea, Bailey, Zac and Jessica
Two gun footballers and their groupieTwo gun footballers and their groupie
Two gun footballers and their groupie

Lachlan, and the guns, Annaleis and Jana.
Who loves Dominic?Who loves Dominic?
Who loves Dominic?

Dominic and Kathy
And they can cook as well ...And they can cook as well ...
And they can cook as well ...

Wonderful hosts Cory and Glenn (Max, the supervisor, was out of camera shot).
Glenn's lovely homeGlenn's lovely home
Glenn's lovely home

Tapitallee, near Nowra, NSW
The view from Glenn's homeThe view from Glenn's home
The view from Glenn's home

The photo doesn't do it justice - you can see to the coast.
Canberra, not so uglyCanberra, not so ugly
Canberra, not so ugly

The Carillion, late afternoon in spring.
A bit different to Hong KongA bit different to Hong Kong
A bit different to Hong Kong

Where we hope to build in Murrumbateman.
Cricket SixesCricket Sixes
Cricket Sixes

Fast, frantic and fun
Cricket SixesCricket Sixes
Cricket Sixes

Of course, Australia should have won ...
Where did we go wrong?Where did we go wrong?
Where did we go wrong?

Georgia persists with trying to read.


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb